am I being unreasonable thinking £1500 is too much for this work?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
fitting of 4.5x4.5 roof trusses for an extension including sofits and fascias. they can do it over a weekend, 2 of them... and its ahem cash.

labour only.

truss plan attached.

Sponsored Links
Two days is good going especially if they do the valley correctly i.e. with plywood support trays etc. I would expect it to take three days to do it to a good standard. Are they going to sheet up where they are cutting into the existing roof?

Two days is good going especially if they do the valley correctly i.e. with plywood support trays etc. I would expect it to take three days to do it to a good standard. Are they going to sheet up where they are cutting into the existing roof?
I'm not really sure about any of your roofing terminology I work in IT. I would expect them to do a good job as they have done in the past ultimately if they don't do it correctly the Building Inspector will pick it up and they will have to come back and fix it

Sponsored Links
Depends what you're paying for. To put the weight of the roof on the existing roof you might be doubling up (sistering) some of the existing rafters, then putting some lay boards down to spread the weight of the new trusses.

If you're paying them cash what makes you think they'd come back - are they already on site with you doing other jobs?

ultimately if they don't do it correctly the Building Inspector will pick it up and they will have to come back and fix it
It does not work like that.
They could do a top quality job and it could fail BC inspection.
Similarly they could do a pi$$ poor quality job and it could pass BC.