Can a socket be added to a lighting circuit?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I just purchased a masthead arial booster with built in amp to split the tv arial to various rooms. It will be in the loft but needs to be powered. As I have no socket in the loft or access to the socket ring can I take a branch off the lighting circuit to power this? Rating on back of unit says: 230V-50Hz, <5W.

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
niallhanlon said:
I just purchased a masthead arial booster with built in amp to split the tv arial to various rooms. It will be in the loft but needs to be powered. As I have no socket in the loft or access to the socket ring can I take a branch off the lighting circuit to power this? Rating on back of unit says: 230V-50Hz, <5W.

Thank you!

I'm only a hobbyist, not electrician, but yes you can. Sockets off the lighting are frowned upon but legal (I think) but use an FCU with 5 amp (think that's correct) to avoid someone in the future plugging something too powerful in and jeopardising the cable (although it should trip in the consumer unit before that happens). Those amplifiers only use a tiny amount.
Make sure one of the 'proper' guys ok's what I've put though!:cool:

Why put a socket in the loft? Just cut the plug off the booster and wire it into a junction box on the light circuit. No need for additional fuse protection as it is on a 5A circuit anyway

What about the need for local isolation ? Surely a double pole swiched fused spur with a 3a fuse is the best way.

Sponsored Links
You could use an FCU with 3A fuse (5A fuse will not discriminate with a 6A CB on the lighting circuit in any case). Or install a 5A 3 pin socket and put a matching plug on yr TV amp.

lazygit said:
Why put a socket in the loft? Just cut the plug off the booster and wire it into a junction box on the light circuit. No need for additional fuse protection as it is on a 5A circuit anyway

That must surely be far beyond regs. There'd be no way of isolating it.