Changing from single oven to double? Outlet swap .

Joined
22 Dec 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Somerset
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i have just bought a new built under double oven to replace my clapped out single.
The single has been fitted on a 13amp plug with 1.5mm flex which is controlled by the cooker switch on the wall.
In the fuse box there the cooker ring is still on a 32 amp fuse ( not what i was expecting for the single oven thats installed)
My qusetion is, is it just a case of changing the single plug outlet to a cooker outlet and wiring up the cooker on 6mm cable?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
30 Jun 2009
Messages
21,627
Reaction score
2,567
Location
Londonderry
Country
United Kingdom
My qusetion is, is it just a case of changing the single plug outlet to a cooker outlet and wiring up the cooker on 6mm cable?

I would first read the manufacturer's instruction and also check the size of cable between MCB and outlet plate, just to make sure that it is suitable for the desired output of the appliance.

But as EFLI has stated a 4.0mm heat resistant flex would be the normal option but that would depend on the output rating of the new appliance.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
20,886
Reaction score
2,188
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Turn the ckkoer MCB off and make sure that power to the oven socket goes off. At least then you'll know that there hasn't been puppetry,
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
22 Dec 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Somerset
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry, yeah its a 32amp MCB
Turned the MCB off and the cooker turned off.
The wire going into the back of the plug socket is definately the usuall 6mm twin and earth.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
20,886
Reaction score
2,188
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
OK, so
  • change the socket for a cooker connection point
    connect whatever cable the maker recommends from connection point to cooker
    Turn on
    Put in turkey
    enjoy
 
Joined
22 Dec 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Somerset
Country
United Kingdom
Brilliant, thats what i thought would be the method!
Always good to make sure though.
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,268
Reaction score
1,184
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
Usually regular 6.0 mm2 twin and earth can be used, which is about the only instance twin and earth cable can be used in the same manner flex can.
 
Sponsored Links
Top