Disable Buzzer On Door Entry Audio Handsets

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Matthew Bester, 20 Jan 2020.

  1. Matthew Bester

    Matthew Bester

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Greetings,

    I'm a shift worker that's been woken by these stupid buzzers for too long now. This happens both during the day, when I am trying to sleep and during the night, on my days off. These handsets are ridiculously loud, penetrating walls and earplugs. I've had enough and found a solution...

    This website has an extensive list of different audio handsets and most importantly includes the different "Call" wire terminals, as they differ from model to model: http://www.intercomsrus.com/intercom_handset_finder_tool.htm

    The good news was my handset is easy to crack open and I could silence it by removing the "Call" wire (number 7 in my diagram below). The bad news was this meant it would never buzz even if I wanted it to and is a less than perfect solution.

    So I have a new idea. Many of these handsets come with what they call an "Auxiliary Button" and I want to see if I can make this into a makeshift "Privacy Button".

    [​IMG]
    (coloured wires may be different)

    Has anyone tried this? Did it work? Can you make any suggestions or give any tips?

    Sleep well,
    Matthew Bester
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    77,038
    Thanks Received:
    4,516
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    blu-tak over the buzzer hole.
     
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Drill hole 6mm on side of handset and fit toggle switch ....this is what I fit on the yc200 handset
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  5. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No buzzer in that handset .....it’s tone generated
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    77,038
    Thanks Received:
    4,516
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    the ear-hole, then.
     
  7. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that a typical Scottish fix ? Lol
     
  8. Matthew Bester

    Matthew Bester

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This looks perfect and was just the sort of reply I was hoping for. So cheap too!

    I am guessing that I wouldn't need to use that auxillary button for this? Should I bypass that and wire directly to the toggle switch and terminal 7 (Call) instead?
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes ....
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Matthew Bester

    Matthew Bester

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 29 Jan 2020
  12. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well done ...
     
  13. Jumping

    Jumping

    Joined:
    31 May 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Howdy,

    Did this work even tho the handsset buzzer is tone generated?

    How does terminal 7 work? Does it send voltage to the handset? I’m trying to work out if I can get a get signal from it to trigger a relay?

    Does any one think that is possible?

    Thanks for any help. :)
     
    Last edited: 31 May 2020
  14. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it a bpt handset ?
     
  15. Jumping

    Jumping

    Joined:
    31 May 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    Yes, it’s the same. Bpt yc/200, the
    Agata C200 also works as I think it’s the replacement.


    Thanks for any help. (y)

    5 Ground
    7 Call input from entry panel
    8 Audio FROM entry panel
    9 Audio TO entry panel
     
  16. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I may have some bpt relay interfaces kicking around will take a look for you
     
  17. Jumping

    Jumping

    Joined:
    31 May 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice thanks. (y)(y)(y):)

    Strange question, not related to original one, but out of all those terminals 5, 6, 7, 8

    There is no door release terminal, is it doing something cleaver on the PCB, although there not much on it. So how is it doing the door release?

    Thanks for any help in advance. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page