Does a TV aerial have to go on the roof ?

Joined
11 Oct 2016
Messages
414
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have lost TV signal in my ground floor flat, after the high winds recently.

I have tried portable amplified aerials. It have struggled to get a decent picture previously.

Its a 3 storey building, I don't want to go up to high.
I wonder if I put a new aerial in the side of the house 2 storeys up it would be ok ?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
12 Jul 2004
Messages
19,572
Reaction score
1,730
Location
Surrey
Country
United Kingdom
i think you are limited to where you can put an aeriel by planning law i think you are restricted to dishes at roof level and aerials above but could be wrong :D
 
Joined
15 Jun 2021
Messages
1,971
Reaction score
453
Location
Wales
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

It also strikes me that you may have difficulty getting permission to attach your aerial, whether from the freeholder, or from the owner of the flat above!

Many purpose built flats will have a communal aerial and satellite distribution system to avoid these type of issues.

Apart from that, yes, an aerial doesn't always have to be mounted on the roof, but that is often the best place for it! :)
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,686
Reaction score
1,439
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have lost TV signal in my ground floor flat, after the high winds recently.

I have tried portable amplified aerials. It have struggled to get a decent picture previously.

Its a 3 storey building, I don't want to go up to high.
I wonder if I put a new aerial in the side of the house 2 storeys up it would be ok ?

Thanks

Where you can get away with locating an antenna, purely from a signal point of view, is entirely dependent of where the transmitter is, its distance and your local topographical conditions.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,510
Reaction score
1,857
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
My aerial is in the loft for all the good it is, my transmitted is moel y sant which is next to useless, over half the normal channels are missing, so I use satellite. Both SkyQ and a free to air box. Better with freesat rather than free to air as better electronic program guide, but seen satellite dishes at ground level. Mine is around 8 foot up the wall, but that is the good thing about satellite dish does not need to be high, plus more programs.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,686
Reaction score
1,439
Country
United Kingdom
My aerial is in the loft for all the good it is, my transmitted is moel y sant which is next to useless, over half the normal channels are missing, so I use satellite. Both SkyQ and a free to air box. Better with freesat rather than free to air as better electronic program guide, but seen satellite dishes at ground level. Mine is around 8 foot up the wall, but that is the good thing about satellite dish does not need to be high, plus more programs.

Correct, mine is also at 8 feet, at the back of the house, an original Sky install, where he put it at the front, high up and looking up at the eaves of the house. At best, it limped along with a poor signal level. Our house is at an angle to the rest of the houses in the street and the installer had assumed the dish would still work in the same spot as all the rest.
 
Joined
1 Dec 2021
Messages
1,250
Reaction score
158
Country
Ireland
Look at the location of the transmitter.
If you can get a line -of -sight to it, i suppose it doesn't matter where the arial is.

Might be worth a look before you get the ladder out :)
 
Sponsored Links
Top