Electrical problems in school

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I work in a school and we have started having problems with our computers/computer rooms.

The problem is every morning when we come in the trips have gone supplying the computer rooms. It never happened till after half term we have not changed any computer or changed the way they are wired.

Trips that go a square d Kq 40A type c they are connected from a distribution unit to another single phase board.

Current usage during day on mcb is 11A, voltage at school seems to vary from 235 to 245 during the day.

I think we are have big brown out between 7am and 8am every morning which is causing trips to trip on voltage rise back to normal because of the computers high leakage. I am right

Could the brownout be caused by school heating coming on (massive pumps) or could it be grid voltage drops.

Should we consider changing mcbs to type d.

Does anyone know a way we can data log the mains voltage?

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks

Carl

Sponsored Links
You could ask the local supply company if they are having any network problems or any other businesses etc in the local vicinity if they are experiencing the same.

I thought about asking eon but I thought they might not admit to having problems if they were. There are no business in the area only houses.

you could find out when the trip is occurring by plugging a cheap n cheerful mechanical time switch into one of the affected sockets, and reading the time off the dial before re-setting the breaker.

Sponsored Links
The trips that are tripping out, are they the main breakers that then feed a separate board in the IT room(s), if so are they just standard type c mcb's or are they rcbo's ?

Also what sort of computers do you have in the rooms in terms of brand and have they got flatscreen or crt monitors?