1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Exposed wires - downlight

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by fozzy9876, 14 Sep 2018.

  1. fozzy9876

    fozzy9876

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Finally got round to replacing a downlight in the bathroom! I noticed scorch marks on the bulb and on closer inspection it looks like there's exposed wires in the fitting which run in to a sticky blob that I presume is electrical tape. I can't get into the loft just now, but assuming I need to replace the faulty section of wire could I cut out the burnt section and rejoin using a connector strip or spliceline?
    Thanks in advance
    ps - im a novice diyer!
    https://www.screwfix.com/p/ideal-sp...gclsrc=aw.ds&dclid=CN2o5dKBu90CFcgQGwodkVYB3w

     
    Last edited: 14 Sep 2018
  2. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,053
    Thanks Received:
    1,469
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those connectors could be used, but so could other types.
    They all need to be inside an enclosure, and you should not have loft insulation piled over the light either.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    32,879
    Thanks Received:
    962
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup, the loft insulation will cause an unwanted build-up of heat.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. fozzy9876

    fozzy9876

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies. I see what you mean about other connectors - I found a chocbox in the garage but its only 10A so looks like its a trip to screwfix!

    Should downlights be clear of all insulation or is a gap of a few cm ok? This was put in via previous owner (govt scheme) so presumably they rolled it out without much consideration of the lights
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,781
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That light does not take 10 amps.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That light doesn't look to have a good IP rating. How many have you got in the Bathroom? I'd been inclined to upgrade it / them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,053
    Thanks Received:
    1,469
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on the exact type, but 150mm all round and above would be typical.

    The solution is not to just leave massive holes in the insulation, as that will result in heat loss.
    Covers should be used with hold the insulation away from the light, such as https://www.screwfix.com/p/halolite-ha-dig250-downlight-insulation-guard-220mm/97932 or https://www.thermahooddirect.com/product/thermahood-square-airtight-downlight-cover-4-pack/
    insulation goes over the top of them.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. fozzy9876

    fozzy9876

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's 4 of them. Renovating the bathroom in a couple of years. Will hold off replacing until then if I can.
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's also illegal.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. fozzy9876

    fozzy9876

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got into the loft, looks like it's just an issue with this light, the rest look ok. For some reason only this lights terminal had electrical tape on it, which has melted.

    Annoying l couldn't find an enclosed chocbox in b&q yesterday (only had 15amp ones left), wanted 30amp to be on safe side. Hopefully get one tomorrow and sort it, for now I'm not using the lights!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    907
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wouldn't 60A be even safer?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    28,511
    Thanks Received:
    3,063
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Actually 30A are physically too big for small lighting wiring.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    4,781
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I already told you your light takes less than 10 amps and you have a 10 amp one. The wires will be too small to fit a 30 amp one safely.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. fozzy9876

    fozzy9876

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you can tell I'm no spark
    I saw your comment about 10amp, but having read up some now I understand. The lights are 50v (6amp) so as you say, 10 amp should be fine.

    Thanks again for your help
     
Loading...

Share This Page