1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fibre Fault

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by securespark, 3 Jun 2018.

  1. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    31,949
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello!
    With Plusnet and the internet went off a couple of days ago. The guy on the helpline did some tests and told me the router was knacked.
    The system I have has a socket local to the router wired off an Openreach combi socket. This then feeds an Openreach modem (Huawei 612) then on to a router that the CH hub is connected to, then to another router for general use.
    The modem has steady power, DSL and LAN led's lit up. The LAN socket underneath has a steady green led and a flashing amber one.

    I got no internet at all, so took a feed from the modem to 3 different routers in turn but still got nothing. Surely that points to a knacked modem, not router?

    Any help gratefully accepted!
     
  2. motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    2,734
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm with plus net, but we don't have a separate modem. Why do you need one have you got an old plus net router or something?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    31,949
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Old", I'm sure you will appreciate, is a relative term!!!!
    To my kids, I am a coffin-dodger, but I still feel 11 in my head!
    I remember the summer Elvis died (when I was actually 11!), Live Aid etc etc.....

    I have a Hub Zero. Their newest router, the Hub One, has a built-in modem. TBH, I prefer the separate kit.
     
  4. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    31,949
    Thanks Received:
    920
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BTW, I rang up PN today and asked them to do further checks. "Oh, yeah, there doesn't appear to be an issue with your router. In fact, you have an internet connection now."

    So I paid for delivery for a router I no longer need.

    Want to send it back and ask for a refund.

    They said you can't have a refund as you asked for the router, but I only said yes because they told me mine was kaput...:rolleyes:
     
  5. motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    2,734
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    12,443
    Thanks Received:
    1,320
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have never paid for router delivery , I get for free Or tell them I’m moving supplier.
     
  7. bar72

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to put your router in Bridged Mode
    Code (Text):
    https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/definitive-HG612-openreach-modem-settings/td-p/1332432
     
  8. SammyInnit

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,452
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm with PN too on the fibre 76 (or whatever it is now). After 6 months I ditched the modem they give you (suppose I should say router as the openreach modem is still in use) and upgraded to a netgear nighthawk, significant improvement in speed and obviously my WIFI strength is far superior. Well worthwhile if you consider it later. I've a couple of range extenders dotted about which helps too.
     
Loading...

Share This Page