1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

flex used on socket circuit EICR code

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by sparkydave in wales, 10 Mar 2016.

  1. sparkydave in wales

    sparkydave in wales

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what code for flex used to wire 15amp radial on EICR?, got a CU change to do later in the year and found a radial wired in flex
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. DaveHerns

    DaveHerns

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What size flex?
     
  4. sparkydave in wales

    sparkydave in wales

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1.5, on 15A 3036 at the moment, only running a fridge, don't like to condemn something just because it's unconventional
     
  5. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does your customer know that you are having to ask on a DIY forum how to do your job?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,426
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing wrong in using flex.
    413.3.4 Flexible cables and cords shall be visible throughout any part of their length liable to mechanical damage.
    521.9.3 A flexible cable or flexible cord shall be used for fixed wiring only where the relevant provisions of the Regulations are met.
    I have seen people try and use that to say they should not be used, however if one looks at caravans then.
    721.521.2 The wiring systems shall be installed using one or more of the following:
    (i) Insulated single-core cables. with flexible class 5 conductors, in non-metallic conduit
    (ii) Insulated single-core cables, with stranded class 2 conductors (minimum of 7 strands), in non-metallic conduit
    (iii) Sheathed flexible cables.
    All cables shall, as a minimum, meet the requirements of BS EN 60332-1-2.
    Non-metallic conduits shall comply with BS EN 61386-21.
    Cable management systems shall comply with BS EN 61386.
    In this case it is concealed in a wall and really one has to use some common sense. When we are using a flexible cable to the rating given for flexible cable then it needs to visible but where it is down graded to allow for being buried then there is no reason why it needs to be visible rate a 70°C flex to same as a 70°C flat twin and earth and OK. With a 60°C flex allowance must be made for the lower temperature rating. However there is no reason why it should not be used.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,508
    Thanks Received:
    3,972
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    1.5mm² is too small or the 15A fuse is too big - unless consideration has been taken to permit the omission of overload protection.

    As it is only supplying a fridge, a 10A fuse could/should have been used.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,070
    Thanks Received:
    1,206
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could change the 3036 for a 60898?

    1.5 flex is good for 16A.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. sparkydave in wales

    sparkydave in wales

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks folks, I'd been thinking along the lines of dropping it to 16A (60898, B) when I do the board swap, couldn't think of any real reason to condemn it and suggest rewiring, as to whether my customer knows if I'm asking on a DIY forum, my exact words to him were, "I think it should be ok to swap onto the new board, but I'll check before commiting myself to that as it's not something I've come accross before" which strictly speaking isn't true, last time I came accross something like this the test results were rubbish so I condemned it on different grounds.
    Yes this is supposedly a DIY forum (albeit with a section for gas engineers), but I also happen to know from past experience that people like securespark, ericmark, EFLImpudence etc often frequent this page and invariably offer sound advice to those mortals who like to check their own judgement at times, and as someone who doesn't have the arrogence to believe he knows everything, I don't mind asking occasionally, I have on many occasions given advice and taken part in discussions where other people have sought reassurance, and tried to do that without passing judgement, obviously a skill which many manage to display, but sadly not all
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. kai

    kai

    One way round is to feed the flex from a 13amp fuse connection unit with flex outlet.
     
  12. sparkydave in wales

    sparkydave in wales

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the flex is buried under the plaster and supplies the socket
     
  13. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,960
    Thanks Received:
    1,349
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flex is fine on fixed installs.
     
  14. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know of a large, multinational corporation, that in the UK, uses YY almost exclusively for their fixed wiring.

    If it doesn't need to H07 or SWA, it's YY.
     
  15. DaftPunk

    DaftPunk

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get on many major new construction projects and you'll find the lighting wired throughout using flex 7.

    Everything on the LV side is wired in flex using plug in factory made terminations.
     
  16. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a big difference between not knowing everything and not knowing something so basic and so easy to find in the Wiring Regulations that it makes you a charlatan to be taking money from people to provide professional expertise.
     
  17. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,114
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    most Tesco express stores are the same, even using 5 core 6mm YY on 3 phase circuits
     
Loading...

Share This Page