Gas Safe- for kitchen fitters.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure if this is the right place to post, Basically I've been fitting kitchens and bathrooms for quite some time now, I'm a fairly competent plumber but have no formal qualifications. The sticking point has always been the moving of gas pipes and plumbing of gas hobs, I would like to know if there's any way a self employed kitchen fitter can get the qualifications to do this work legally.
Cheers, Mark.

Sponsored Links
the same way as everyone else. But you'll need to leave your job for a year or so to do formal training and work based experience with a different company. There's no short cut.

Enrol in a training college,pay the fees,do the course.pass the relevant exams and practical tests and after that register with Gassafe.Sounds easy.
You should get some on the job training as a piece of paper is only that.Experience is needed.

I would have thought the solution is to form a good relationship with someone who is gas reg who can help you with that.

The amount of time and the cost of being gas registered will hardly make it worthwhile just for small jobs.

Tony

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the replies fellas, I feared that would be the answer. I just hoped there would be an alternative ,to phoning up a plumber who breezes in two days later , does something that I could have done in 2 minutes, and then relieves me of a big wad of cash.

But surley dont u just add that onto the cost of the job.

Thats why it costs u that much-because its costs us to get qualified and stay qualified

Hi PRS1, I don't resent paying the money, and appreciate the hoops that people have to jump through to become gas safe. I just wish there was a simplified version, for people who just want to connect up a gas hob, or maybe move some gas pipe.
I've been cutting,bending,soldering, copper pipe for years with no trouble at all. the only difference is the stuff that runs through the pipes.