HELP! Dormer extension/new bathroom stressing me out

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am a complete novice with DIY so I may be worrying about nothing, but I'll explain my situation and hopefully you can give me some advice.

We've had a former extension in our bathtroom because the shower wall was sloped. The building work has gone fine and we're now at the decorating/installation stage. We are having tiling around bath only. Also we're having fitted units for the sink and toilet and cabinets above with mosaic tile strip in betwen.

This is the order our building a done things:
- install bath
- install base units (without toilet and sink yet)
- tiling around bath directly onto plaster board, and on floor
- tiling above units onto original plastered wall

I've started worrying now because the tiler got grout everywhere, including our brand new units which I can't get off and I'm quite upset already.

Next plan and worries are:
- plastering the ceiling (is it normal to tile walls up to ceiling before plastering it?)
- skimming walls up to the units (I'm worried about the finish looking bad and also about the units getting more dirty)

We will then have to prime and paint the ceiling and walls with the units in place.

Does this sound like a normal schedule? The logical order to me seems to be having plastered the walls and ceiling first, then painting ceiling, then tiling wall and floor, then painting the rest of the walls and finally fitting the units.

I feel a bit like our builder is just taking the quickest route. Am I just overthinking all of this?

Sponsored Links
There is, of course, a logical order to any project being undertaken.
However, in the real world, sometimes things do not go according to plan... Not ideal but certain circumstances make it unavoidable!

If your builder is also the main contractor and is handling all the other trades then he is ultimately answerable to you regarding the quality of the final finish.