Hive install to replace Danfoss system with HIU

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm new to this, but I'm learning fast...

I would like to upgrade my current 2 zone heating system to Hive.

The current system runs off a district heat network to the flats with a heating interface unit in the flat. I have two HPA2 zone valves, two RET230P room stats and a TS715 single channel timeswitch controlling everything.

I want to replace with 2 single zone hive receivers/stats. I expected this to be a relatively straight forward swap of the TS715 and the 2 Hive receivers - but when I saw the cabling I was very confused.

I've seen a number of wiring diagrams but I'm still not sure the best way to go about it.

If anyone is able to talk me through, or just give some advice I'd appreciate it. I can upload pics of the wiring centre etc if that would be useful.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
The existing thermostat wiring should be as per the diagram below from the RET230P installation instructions.

Capture.JPG

For each thermostat, it's then a matter of moving the wires from each of the RET230P terminal, to the corresponding terminal at the new Hive receiver which carries out the same function. It's quite easy in this instance as they have the same descriptions.

upload_2017-11-20_8-49-46.png

RET230P (N) = Hive (N)
RET230P (L) = Hive (L)
RET230P (1) 'On' NO = Hive 'Heating On' NO. Terminal (3)
RET230P (3) Com = Hive Common, Terminal (1)

If your RET230P has the link between L and 3 (shown dotted in the RET230P diagram) then that will need to be retained between the Hive (L) and Hive Common, Terminal (1).