1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Ideal Logic Combi 35+ Hive Install Help

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Szemko, 8 Jan 2021.

  1. Szemko

    Szemko

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys.

    I have seen few posts on here and other places but could not fit one to my system .

    The house doesnt currently have any thermostat or heating control system connected , so its a fresh instal of a Hive Receiver which I have purchased and althought I have some DIY experience and this seems straight and forward I wanted to ask for some advice to let me know how to connect it. I have 5 core cable ready and the image of the boiler wiring is attached. Im aware I need to remove red link wire .

    Thanks for all help !
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,776
    Thanks Received:
    7,702
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    L&N from Boiler to
    L&N on hive
    remove red link and connect those two terminals to 1 & 3 on the hive , either way round doesnt matter
    DO NOT make any links anywhere which you might have seen in other posts
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Szemko

    Szemko

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats exackly why I wanted to post new thread as I have seen people making links between common and live and I wasnt sure why

    I understand that earth wire also goes to Hive earth connection so will have following : Neutral , Live and Earth going to coresponding connections on Hive plate + 2 cables from room stat slots on the boiler connected to 1 & 3 on Hive plate. Does this makes sense ?
     
  5. Szemko

    Szemko

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I have done a simple wiring diagram I want to complete , can I have some advice please if thats correct or not ?

    Hopefuly its self explanatory , 5 wires goes in to boiler connection slots and to hive plate on the other side

    Thanks a lot for all help
     

    Attached Files:

  6. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,212
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, looks good to me.
     
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,776
    Thanks Received:
    7,702
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can do if you want but it is not doing anything, it is simply somewhere to park an existing earth wire, the hive is not earthed, wont do any harm connecting it though and yes the rest looks fine
     
  8. Szemko

    Szemko

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I will go ahead and install it shortly . Will let you know if all works fine !

    Thanks ever so much
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. MarkT1967

    MarkT1967

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, is the boiler your using an ideal Logic Combi ESP1 35 ?
    On your pic the existing wires are the ones for the existing stat which get removed, correct ?
    My son lives in an apartment which appears to have 2 stats, 1 in the master bedroom the other in the hallway. New build completed in October just before they moved in. I found it strange to have 2 stats in a small apartment.

    Thanks in advance
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,776
    Thanks Received:
    7,702
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the bedroom upstairs and the hallway downstairs ?
     
  12. MarkT1967

    MarkT1967

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it’s an 2 bedroom apartment new build.
    Thanks
     
  13. MarkT1967

    MarkT1967

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, I have been to my sons apartment and it definitely has 2 zones with 1 controlling the master bedroom and the other the rest of the apartment.
    I have looked at the wiring centre which is in the utility cupboard and the boiler is in the kitchen area.
    Anyone able to work out which wires are the ones I need for the Hive please?
    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,465
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The highlighted black wires below are the switched live connections from the two room thermostats.

    Capture 1.JPG

    The two sheathed cables that include the black wires in the highlighted terminals above should be disconnected completely. These should be the two cables that go to the room thermostats. But please check to make sure.

    The third cable connected to the bottom set of terminals ( 10, 9 & 8 ) goes to the boiler, that should be left in place.

    Once the existing thermostat cables are removed. The Hives (single channel versions) are connected as follows:

    dkyJ2U6.png


    Hive Receiver for Zone 1

    Hive N = Terminal 9 with the blue and grey wires in
    Hive L = Terminal 8 with the grey and brown wires in
    Hive 3 = Terminal 11 with the brown wire to the motorised valve marked Zone 1
    Link together Hive terminals L and 1

    Hive Receiver for Zone 2
    Hive N = Terminal 9 with the blue and grey wires in
    Hive L = Terminal 8 with the grey and brown wires in
    Hive 3 = Terminal 12 with the brown wire to motorised valve marked Zone 2
    Link together Hive terminals L and 1

    The above is based on the top left hand cable that leaves the wiring centre going to the valve marked Zone 1, and the cable below it to the valve marked Zone 2. That's the way it looks to be to me in the photo, if it's the other way around simply transpose the above.

    Earths go to terminal 7 as now.
     
  15. MarkT1967

    MarkT1967

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Stem, many thanks for your reply. It’s going to help a lot, for the moment and also due to the fact that Zone 2 is only the master bedroom I’m just going to use the 1 Hive Stat for the moment to control the main rooms. I can always add another along the line.
    Thanks again.
     
  16. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,465
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK (y) just remove the room thermostat relating to Zone 1 then.

    This twin zone thing is due to 'Part L of the Building Regulations' and aimed at energy saving. The idea is that you don't need to heat the sleeping areas during the day, whilst the living areas are being heated. However, the second zone should control both bedrooms, not just one of them.
     
  17. Szemko

    Szemko

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys

    I have finally found time to connect it all , although the hive is connected and all devices work the boiler doesnt start the heating and the message is displayed: Timer or Room Stat off . Is it because I have the analog timer in front of the boiler connected ?

    The heating works when operating the manual timer just not by Hive

    Any ideas ? Should I disconnect the manual timer or do I need any link wires in the hive plate ?

    Thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Share This Page