1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Immersion Heater not working

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Glyn1959, 24 Sep 2008.

  1. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I tried my immersion for the first time and it trips after 14 seconds each time I switch on! I have traced the power from the switch in the kitchen to the switch in the airing cupboard and on to the immersion head itself.
    The live wire goes into the blue plastic covered unit (screw on right) and on from the screw on the leftthrough the white wire to a brass post sticking up from the base of the immersion heater head. there is power reaching this point.
    Any ideas what the problem could be other than a fault with the immersion itself? It may never have been tested (not even at istallation some 4 years ago!)
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    72,944
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    you are saying the immersion heater trips? :eek: How does this manifest itself?
     
  4. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Immersion heater trips in consumer unit
     
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,356
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As they are in water they are prone to corrode away and then short out to earth.
    You need to safely isolate and disconnect the element and check insulation resistance and continuity of the element.
     
  6. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,480
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What EXACTLY is tripping?! An MCB or an RCD??
     
  7. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    72,944
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    I bet you £5 there is not an immersion heater in your consumer unit. they are invariably placed inside hot water cylinders.
     
  8. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,480
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:
     
  9. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Priceless! I meant the rcd on the comsumer unit!
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. sealeon

    sealeon

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The regs peeps may have a few words to say about the guy who put it in there if it is :LOL: :LOL: I go with the coroded element theory
     
  12. bongos

    bongos

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's the RCD then there could well be earth leakage happening which would cause the RCD to trip.

    The only way to really know would be to do as is suggested - insulation test/continuity of the element. It sounds as though you might need a new element though.
     
  13. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Stupid question, but I notice that neither of the switches are earthed to theie metal boxes. could this influence things?
     
  14. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,356
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not really
     
  15. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem Solved! :D

    Called sparky back who had fitted the new consumer unit a few months back and he spotted the problem straight away. He had fitted a 6Amp MCB instead of a 16Amp!
    All is well now but good job he'd fitted one lower than required and not higher!!!!!!!!
     
  16. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,356
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    The wrong MCB would not cause the RCD to trip
     
  17. Glyn1959

    Glyn1959

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, my terminology has been wrong on this post. It has been the MCB that has been tripping
    Thanks for qall your input :)
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page