1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing hive with old ideal logic es35

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Jason Nuttall, 25 Mar 2021.

  1. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, I thought I had this all wired up correctly but it's not working. Images attached are the hive receiver wired in to what was previously the wires for old fashioned basic thermostats. Then the inside of the boiler and a plug that was connected to an old timer inside the boiler.

    If anyone can see something potentially hooked up wrong that I could try and switch out it would be much appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,447
    Thanks Received:
    8,366
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Plug the old timer inside the boiler back in and set it to constantly on , it should work now, if it does , you can leave it like that or indentify the two switching wires on the old inbuilt timer and join them
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks man, I've tried connecting the 4&3 wires in the timer plug and the 1&3 wires. Didn't seem to make a difference. I plug the timer back in and that doesn't help whatever I do with it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've actually got it a little further now. I connected wires 4&3 again from the timer and now the boiler shows C (central heating demand) when the hive is on. Only the burner light only stays on for 20 seconds at a time and the radiators don't warm up.
     
  6. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,447
    Thanks Received:
    8,366
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes 4&3 are the correct wires to link together, if C is displayed on the boiler panel, then the boiler is sensing a call for CH, if boiler not firing it is something else, the burner is coming on you say for a short time, does the C stay on when the burner goes out ? with the boiler being off the pump may be stuck, easy enough to free it if it is
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks man, yes the C stays on consistently throughout but the light won't stay lit. It all appears to be working correctly so yes could be pump as you said. Any reference of how to fix that?
     
  8. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ian, here's the picture of under my boiler. Any advice on how to unstick the pump would be appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any zone valves installed?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It previously had two wired thermostats installed so I suppose so. How do I check?
     
  12. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Might be directly above/under the boiler, depending on which way the pipes are ran.
     
  13. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've googled it and can't see anything resembling them but don't exactly know what I'm looking for.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, follow the pipes and check above. You’re looking for something that resembles this:

    upload_2021-3-26_18-28-20.jpeg
     
  15. Jason Nuttall

    Jason Nuttall

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is as far up as I can see and there's nothing that looks like that. Would there be a simple solution to override that anyway that I could try?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Find the valve and yes, you should be able to override, or disconnect wiring from them altogether and use the boiler to control all rads.
     
  17. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,447
    Thanks Received:
    8,366
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And that is why I said not to Hi -jack posts you have a completely different system, you have wired yours completely wrong you have an S plan but looking for advice on a simple on -off combi
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page