Insurance Jobs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Id like to find out how you handle insurance jobs....as we all know they are notorious for paying months down the line.

Sponsored Links
Well, all the ones we were involved with paid up in time (in two cases even upfront ;))

Only done one, the customer paid on comletion and I had to send a copy of the invoice to the insurance co so she could claim back. It was a good job as she told me what the other company had quoted to do the repairs (she needed 2 quotes) and it was sky-high.

I worked as a "labourer" on work experience a few years ago, with a company run by my neighbour. I dont think it exists any more. They were contracted directly by insurance companies to repair properties. Got a lot of work, right from Leeds to Hull. Employed about 15 tradesmen. A couple of bricklayers, couple of plasterers, artexer, spark, plumber, joiners, jacks-of-all-trades etc. The company seemed to get on ok with the insurers, moneys paid on time etc. Certain jobs, we would collect the insurance excess from the customer on the insurance co's request.

Most jobs were water damage, and when i was working with their surveyor, we would always over-do the work, so the house was restored to its original quality, if not better. So water down one wall and ceiling in a kitchen, couple of kitchen units damaged - quote for replacing ceiling - messy job, so also replace all kicthen unit doors and worktops (chances of getting matches unlikely). Redecorate entire room. Customer happy.

Sponsored Links
I wont touch them full stop unles the customer is willing to pay for the estimate...which I give them a recieipt for so they can claim back anyway.

The reason........I have been had soooooooooooooo many times by customers who submit the quotes then keep the money the insurance pay out without having the work done.

On average id say 8 out of 10 insurance jobs are like this.