Intruder Alarm with 4 core wiring and Advantage ZX6

C

cabot

After fitting replacement batteries to both the main alarm panel and the exterior bell box, i came home today to find the strobe flashing.My son had told me that the sounder had been going off for 20mins and had just stopped. I could not get the strobe to stobe and eventually had to remove the 3 pin connection on the bell boxes printed circuit.I also discovered that the main panel felt rather hot so decided to disconnect the system from the mains by removing the fuse from the spur.Looks like i am faced with replacing the main panel and the bell box and looking at the cost involved i can source them for £75 for the 2 .I have noticed that my system is hard wired with i think 4 core wire,Does this limit my choice or does it mean i will have to rewire the complete system ? I only changed the panel battery 48 hours ago and the bell box battery was changed 4 hours ago.The system was fitted in 1994 and i have not had any problems from it.Can anyone give any advice as to what steps i can take or would i be better employing an engineer to sort out the mess. thanks .I am keen to get it fixed as i am off on holiday soon.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
16 Oct 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Probably best to get an alarm engineer in, especially as you are going on holiday soon.

You don't want to ruin your holiday.
 
C

cabot

Can anyone tell me if 4 core alarm cable is suitable or can be used for replacement bell boxes / panels or will i have to rip out the old system and replace it all with 6/8 core cable- thanks
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
31,283
Reaction score
1,996
Country
United Kingdom
If you use the switched negative to activate both siren and strobe then yes you can.The only difference is that the strobe will switch off when the siren switches off rather than continuing to flash (and who wants the strobe to flash for a fortnight whilst you are away anyway?)
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Nov 2007
Messages
2,954
Reaction score
268
Country
United Kingdom
If you use the switched negative to activate both siren and strobe then yes you can.The only difference is that the strobe will switch off when the siren switches off rather than continuing to flash (and who wants the strobe to flash for a fortnight whilst you are away anyway?)
Apart from that it's supposed to go off at the same time anyway, unless you are a cowboy of course and then .......
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
31,283
Reaction score
1,996
Country
United Kingdom
Not all panels have 'strobe follow bell' do they? Wot you goin on about?
 
Joined
16 Oct 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
A lot of alarm panels already installed out there have the bell cut off timer but the strobe continues to activate until the alarm is switched off by the code.

Where do i leave my spittoon?
 
C

cabot

So can i use 4 core wire or do i rip it all out and start afresh or utilise the 4 core wire THROUGHOUT the installation ?
 
Joined
16 Oct 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
You can use 4 core cable ok.

If you were a company that is inspected so that you comply with current standards you would probably require a re wire.

But as it seems you are a DIY customer you can use whatever cable you want for the 12v DC part.

As far as the 230V AC you are prohibited by law from touching this because of safety reasons.
 
Joined
28 Mar 2004
Messages
9,885
Reaction score
445
Country
United Kingdom
As far as the 230V AC you are prohibited by law from touching this because of safety reasons.
Really? the only law i'm aware of that restricts what householders can do with thier own electrics is part P of the building regs and afaict most alarm panel fitting work is not notifiable under part P (some may be though, depending on exactly where the panel is, how it is powered and whether it is replacement or new installation).
 
A

Atilla

You can use 4 core cable ok.

If you were a company that is inspected so that you comply with current standards you would probably require a re wire. why?

But as it seems you are a DIY customer you can use whatever cable you want for the 12v DC part. no you can`t

As far as the 230V AC you are prohibited by law from touching this because of safety reasons.


cough, cough
 
Joined
16 Oct 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
You can use 4 core cable ok.

If you were a company that is inspected so that you comply with current standards you would probably require a re wire. why?

But as it seems you are a DIY customer you can use whatever cable you want for the 12v DC part. no you can`t

As far as the 230V AC you are prohibited by law from touching this because of safety reasons.


cough, cough

Professional alarm companies have to comply with BSEN regulations & normally installers use 6 core for the bell box................I said probably............................!

As far as my comment about using whatever cable you want i am right.

There are no regulations that prevent a DIY person using whatever cable they like for the 12v DC low voltage.

I have seen twin bell wire used, telephone cable also used....even twin & earth & mains flexy wiring used for the 12v DC.

Like i said, as a DIY customer you can use whatever you like.

What i did not say was that it is right.

I would always recommend using the correct cable for the job.
 
A

Atilla

You can use 4 core cable ok.

If you were a company that is inspected so that you comply with current standards you would probably require a re wire. why?

But as it seems you are a DIY customer you can use whatever cable you want for the 12v DC part. no you can`t

As far as the 230V AC you are prohibited by law from touching this because of safety reasons.


cough, cough

Professional alarm companies have to comply with BSEN regulations & normally installers use 6 core for the bell box................I said probably............................! I`m an NSI gold approved installer for the last 14 plus years - you can use 4 core and comply (infact wiring the strobe to continue is another of those ignored infractions - like LED`s

As far as my comment about using whatever cable you want i am right.

There are no regulations that prevent a DIY person using whatever cable they like for the 12v DC low voltage. yes there is .......

I have seen twin bell wire used, telephone cable also used....even twin & earth & mains flexy wiring used for the 12v DC.

Like i said, as a DIY customer you can use whatever you like. no you can`t.....

What i did not say was that it is right.

I would always recommend using the correct cable for the job. part p applies to alarms as much as 240V - get used to it.

please try and get your facts right
 
Joined
16 Oct 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Atilla,

read my posts properly before replying.


Your comments about part P are wrong.

DIY users are not regulated or inspected......unlike professional alarm installers.

Anyway.....this is a DIY forum!!!!!!!!!
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top