Is this boiler "fault" normal - video

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I've got BG homecare and called them out for a fault with the boiler, he ended up telling me there was a blockage in the gravity hot water flow/return causing the boiler to get very hot at the flow output location and cut out.

So the boiler always lights from cold, but then if I try and turn it on within an hour or two of it having been on previously, this happens... (video taken through the observation window at night so the flame can be seen)

He then went on to say it's "probably" caused by the overheating flow, but until we've spent £700 on a powerflush he won't diagnose further.

So, is what is happening in the video normal under those circumstances i.e. lights for 1 second, goes out for a few secs, lights for 1 second, goes out for a few secs, about 30 times before lighting permanently. The engineer said the boiler is still too hot so it's deciding to switch off.

I'm a computer engineer, and the logical part of me tells me that won't be right, why would the boiler even be attempting to light if it was too hot, to then immediately cut out. Surely it would just monitor the temperature and only attempt to light once it's cooled. Or is it a case of the left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing, the ignition PCB decides it's time for heat, lights, and then the aquastat PCB tells it to cut out.

Also, with the above logic, every time it lights for 1 second, it is getting it a little bit hotter, so after 3 minutes as shown in the video it's got a lot hotter, so why does it then light permanently. It goes against what the BG chap said about it cutting out because its too hot. When I took the video, it had been about an hour since it was last on properly and all the pipes felt cold to me.