Is this price for real?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have just had a price for bonding and tiling a shower room that measures 1.5m x 1.5m. The guy is asking £1000. The price includes bonding materials and adhesive. The Tiles were not included in the price.

Now I can tile myself but I have never bonded, Is it hard???

Sponsored Links
When you say bonding do you mean a bonding coat of plaster?You would only need a few bags,cost about £20 or so.

Tiling onto bonding is no good anyway,either direct onto plasterboard or a skimcoat.

How many sq meters of tiling are we talking,excluding doors,windows etc?

I am not good with working out size I'm afraid. The room is standard height and its 5 ft by 5ft with 1 doorway and no windows.
The walls are newly built blockwork and the tiler said that we need to Bond this first before we can tile. So do we need to tile and plaster before we can tile?

You dont have to plaster new blockwork,you can dot and dab plasterboard directly onto it then tile directly onto the plasterboard.
Tank around the shower area too.

From your info I would guess your looking at about 12-13sqm of tiling on the walls and the price depends on the tiles your having as well as awkward corners cuts etc.

A competent diyer could dot and dab the walls,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pssxkpXEb8&feature=related

Sponsored Links
No the price did not include the tiles, I was going to buy them myself. So £1000 was for bonding and tiling a 5ft x 5ft square room that has no pipes and no other obstacles except the door opening. I am now going to Tile it myself and hubby is going to plasterboard the walls first.

Is plasterboard ok to hold tiles from floor to ceiling? or would I be better off doing half the wall tiles? I am going to use ceramic wall tiles, not the heavy stone ones

Lets say
1 day to plaster Bonding & finish ct Allow a week or two to dry
1/2 day to come back and tank allow to dry 24hrs
1 day Day to tile
1/2 day to grout & mastic

Materials