Lighting Help Please

D

Deleted2797112

Hello, newbie here - be gentle please! I'm putting a new light on a staircase. It has two switches, one at the top and one at the bottom of the stairs. There are other lights in the circuit upstairs. I'm leaving out the earths in this description as the new light fitting is double insulated and the instructions say to join all the earths onto a connector block, tape it up and push it back into the ceiling cavity which I've done.

When I opened the old rose, there were two cables each with red and black wires and one cable with red, blue and yellow wires. The three red wires were wired into the centre section of the rose. The yellow wire was wired into the section with the brown wire that goes down to the old light. The blue wire and the two black wires were wired into the section with the blue wire that goes down to the old light (the two black wires were in a single hole).

From reading around here and looking at the diagrams, I worked out that the cables with red and black are the live loop and the cable with red. blue and yellow is the switch cable. The new light fitting only has two holes for brown and blue. So, I wired the three reds into a connector box and pushed it out of the way. I wired the yellow to the brown hole in the new fitting and twisted the two black wires and the blue wire together and wired them into the blue hole in the new fitting.

When I turned the power back on the new light works and both the upstairs and downstairs switch work too. BUT, the other lights upstairs which I assume are fed by the stair light have stopped working. Nothing has gone bang and the consumer unit hasn't tripped. What have I done wrong please?

Thanks for reading!

Sponsored Links
Well done for noting where the wires went.

If I have read correctly all seems ok - except I cannot see a purpose for the blue (of the RYB cable) to be connected to the Neutrals.
Can you have a look in the switch and see if it is connected?