Mince boilers

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone here boil mince? Or do you prefer the traditional Frying technique?

Sponsored Links
My Gran used to boil mince in a pan with finely chopped onion & we would eat it with boiled peas & very slowly cooked toast.

I boil, far healthier and by using spices and other flavourings even cheap mince can be made tasty.

Neither.

I brown chunks of meat.

Don't eat mince.

Sponsored Links
Any of you listen to Galaxy 105 in Yorkshire? They set up MBA - Mince Boilers Anonymous because of the breakfast DJ's (Simon Hirst) fondness of BOILING mince. :LOL: They have spent the last 6 months banging on about how wrong it is!

http://www.galaxyyorkshire.co.uk/Article.asp?PT=HIRSTY'S+DAILY+DOSE&id=346753

I'm gonna send off for a car sticker to support their campaign :LOL: Frying is the future! :LOL:

Here's Hirsty now!
1798983.jpg

I've been kicking around this planet for 50 years and I can't remember ever eating boiled mince.... am I missing out on something... :eek:

very slowly cooked toast.

What's that all about? what would that achieve ? do you have to butter it slowly ? :LOL:

slick50 said:
I've been kicking around this planet for 50 years and I can't remember ever eating boiled mince.... am I missing out on something... :eek:
Unless you have been eating plenty of meat pies, you have missed out on minced feet, ears, scro tum, uterus and udder.

mmmmm I love boiled mince.

Chuck an oxo cube in with the water, and once cooked add a bit of gravy granules to thicken the liquid. Serve in Yorkshire puddings with mash.

BTW I'm too old to listen to all that thud thud thud rubbish on galaxy ;)

OK, boiling mince for a spag bol??? Does anyone do that???

Rob's suggestion I can understand, you're keeping the flavour in the final dish, thats ok, but boiling mince for a SPAG BOL is wrong!!!