1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

MOES WiFi Smart Thermostat, replacing a on/off switch

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by kinning, 14 Dec 2020.

  1. kinning

    kinning

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi hope someone can help, I have read and got a lot of answers in the past, but couldn't sort this.

    I've purchased "MOES WiFi Smart Thermostat" from amazon, and need it t replace a simple on/off switch that controls the boiler. Pics below of inside the current switch. Wiring diagram for the new switch.


    Thanks

     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. dilalio

    dilalio

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    7,193
    Thanks Received:
    1,109
    Location:
    Potters Bar
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Explain more...
    On/off switch for boiler is used for...
     
  4. kinning

    kinning

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Turns the oil boiler on/off. The programmer was removed.
     
  5. dilalio

    dilalio

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    7,193
    Thanks Received:
    1,109
    Location:
    Potters Bar
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not the job of a roomstat then!
     
  6. kinning

    kinning

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So call in the professionals then?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,926
    Thanks Received:
    8,135
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are not really making sense, do you mean if you want the heating to come on you use that switch ?
     
  9. kinning

    kinning

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the switch that is in our kitchen. When I press it the heating comes on/ boiler. The boiler is located in the garage.
     
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,926
    Thanks Received:
    8,135
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can put your new stat there but you will have to alter some wires at the boiler end, you will need a permanent live , a permanent Neutral and a switched live, you dont have a neutral at present at that switch
     
  11. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,559
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It depends on the boiler, my oil boiler it is a simple case of on/off, but most modern boilers need a perment line so they can run on and cool down.
     
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,926
    Thanks Received:
    8,135
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is the new thermostat that
    It is the new thermostat that needs a permanent live to work
     
Loading...

Share This Page