Moving a switched fused spur on kitchen wall

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We're in the process of re-designing the kitchen. At the moment the switched fused spur for the washing machine is on the wall just above the worktop - however as we'd like to put in a full height cupboard there and the switch will need to be moved, as it'll be covered by the side of the cupboard. If it moved 30 cm along the wall all would be fine. Hopefully the attached picture makes sense.

We've spoken to a couple of kitchen places about this, and the general view seems to be 'That's not a problem, we'll just connect some extra wires up to in and move the switch 30cm to the left - job done'

I'm not an electrician, but I understand that wiring should run vert or horz from any socket/switch in the 'Safe Zone'. The existing switch location can be seen covered by the new cupboard side. My concern is that with the switch moved, although the new wiring would be in a considered safe zone, however as no-one would be now aware of the existing switch location - will the existing vert wiring will no longer be in a safe zone? Or as it's covered by a metal channel (as less than 50mm from the surface) would that be considered suitable safe anyway under the rules? As the only other way would be to move all the vertical wiring along the wall 30cm.

Just wanting to make sure no-one's doing anything silly that'll bite me on the arse when I come to see the house, or could be dangerous in the mean time.

Thanks all.

Attachments

• Kitchen Wiring Washing Machine.jpg
    Kitchen Wiring Washing Machine.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 1,079
Sponsored Links
Kitchen places are not electricians, and it was due partly to those cowboy approaches that the whole part P thing came about. I feel the metal channel will not make it safe under the rules, but others may have other ideas.