Narrowing landing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm planning to fit a new banister. While I'm there, I'd like to make some changes to the landing (left of photo).

For some reason it's about 6cm wider at the far end, so I'd like to straighten it up. I'd also like to narrow it by one board width to accommodate the handrail fittings I have in mind and make the opening a bit wider.

Having taken up the boards shown in the photo it seems the landing joists have no support at the right ends. They simply sit on and protrude from the load bearing wall on the left with the right ends hanging in mid air. Is this quite typical?

If so, am I missing something or would it be OK to shorten the joists by cutting them along the red line shown in the photo?

Thanks,

Rob

Sponsored Links
would involve major structural alterations and possibly a bit off steelwork

I'm no structural engineer but it looks like the joists are resting on 2 walls to the left so the small area you are talking about is an overhang from the wall you mention. Presumably there is enough weight on the other side (including the wall sitting on the joists) to allow this small area to stay up effectively unsupported. Cutting the joists like you mention will reduce the unsupported area so at a guess would be ok, however as I say, I'm not a structural engineer so if I were you I'd get someone to look at it. Is there anything nailed onto the ends of these joists? Again, no qualifications but attaching a timber running along the ends would presumably join them up and help to distribute any load on one of them to the rest. Still unsupported though.

edit - just noticed, great name btw

would involve major structural alterations and possibly a bit off steelwork

If definitely so then I won't bother!

But there's literally nothing supporting these joists other than the load bearing wall on the left. They then continue a further 3m under the main bedroom before meeting the external wall.