New cylinder/ boiler advice 5 bed house

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

This is my first post on here, so Hi and Welcome. My name is Ben, and I live in NW London. I have used forums for years, but mainly for the various cars I have had.

I am not a particular expert as far a plumbing and CH goes, but am fairly clued up on mechanics, so with the small amount of knowledge I have, and with the help of my father who is a Quantity Surveyor, I will be able to sort this out and get some good advice from a few different angles.

I have had a look at the FAQ section, and I am sure that the 'use the search function' answer may come my way!

Problem:

The family home is a 5 bed detached 1930's mock Tudor job, not listed, with one bathroom, one shower room, and two WC's. There is a maximum of 5 people living in the house, and a minimum of 3.

There is ample space located to the garage side of the house, with a purpose built 5' x 5' boiler 'room'/ closet, which was installed to keep the boiler outside for safety.

The CH and hot water system thus comprises of a vented, unpressurised system with:

1. Potterton gas 150K BTU boiler on ground floor outside boiler room.

2. 150 litre cylinder on 1st floor.

3. Water tank on 2nd floor.

The problem is that the CH and hot water has not been working well for years, and had recently stopped working all together. There is also water overflow venting from the tank on the 2nd floor out of the overflow pipe, falling to the ground.

The boiler is c. 15-20 years old, but has been regularly serviced, and is in good shape.

The cylinder is too small, and too old, and needs replacing. Hot water is currently being supplied by an immersion on a timer.

The tank is probably fine.

Considerations:

I have been looking around, and have probably come to the conclusion that a pressurised unvented system is the norm, and the best - thus replacing the cylinder, and keeping the other bits for now.