1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

PC Troubles

Discussion in 'Software' started by securespark, 2 May 2020.

  1. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Recently been hacked.

    amazon & ebay accounts. They took full responsibility and the bank coughed.

    Now my email has been hijacked. I need to change my mailbox password. We have Plusnet, but I use my old domain-based addys. I can't get hold of Plusnet and I can't remember how to do this.

    Just now, I clicked on a link I have in my Opera browser to Argos:

    upload_2020-5-2_11-41-55.png

    And it takes ages to respond. Then up pops this in the address bar- www.tkqlhce.com
    Which is blocked by Opera. Looks like a hijacked link.

    I have been ****-hot with security since this hijacked accounts malarkey: I make sure the Bitdefender is regularly updated and use the full versions of C Cleaner, Malware Bytes and Super Anti Spyware, but they have not pulled anything suspicious.

    Where do I go from here?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. footprints

    footprints

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,077
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you. I'll look at that now.

    I forgot to mention that the scans have highlighted a large number of password-protected files on my drives, but I have never created any.

    Is that sinister?
     
  4. footprints

    footprints

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,077
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Worth downloading malwarebytes, use the free version (just on demand scan)then it will not clash with whatever security you normally run.
    https://www.malwarebytes.com/
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's ransomware at work. They are encrypted, which requires a password from the hacker to unlock. Best to revert to backup of the data and delete the encrypted files
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yikes, thanks, chalky.

    How do you stop this happening?

    Footprints, I am already using Malware Bytes (and C Cleaner and Super Anti Spyware: all paid for versions) and they never flag anything suspicious.
     
  7. pete50

    pete50

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    631
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Best to do a full reinstall. You will never get rid of all the junk that viri, malware and other scammers put on your computer. If you don't how learn. Plenty on how to do it on the web.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. EddieM

    EddieM

    Joined:
    15 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    8,318
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try this

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have considered that.

    But how would you stop snoopers and hackers from doing it again?
     
  11. Nozzle

    Nozzle

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    2,053
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't click on links that have been helpfully provided to you in a dodgy email.

    Nozzle
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  12. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,826
    Thanks Received:
    414
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not quite.
    Do not just do a reinstall.
    You need to remove the files from your drive, just reinstalling will leave them there.

    Wiping the drive before a reinstall is what ought to return this to a usable condition, however beware that some may even hide a payload in areas that even a format cannot remove.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,190
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Win10 has some sort of 'Ransomware Protection' - It requires turning on.
    Windows Security - Virus & Threat protection - Ransomware Protection (bottom of page) - Manage Ransomware Protection.
    I'd read up on that if considering using the stuff - May not suit your needs.
    Good idea to keep W10 up to date - Never had a real problem thus far.. W10 Pro V:1909 : OS Build 18363.88
    https://www.dummies.com/computers/o...-in-windows-10-with-controlled-folder-access/


    I was a long time user of Malware-bytes (freeby) ... Not so impressed with the paid version, did register it in the Windows security Centre, but found it then replaced Defender - I unregistered it, wanted both active. Found nothing yet - maybe I am too conservative with my Googling.
    I never seemed to witness MWB updating was quickly through scan for updates - then I left clicked it's icon in the 'show hidden icons' at right, near end, taskbar - Selected check for updates - Seemed to do as expected.

    Also found this ok - 'StartPage' search engine :- https://www.google.com/search?client=opera&q=startpage.com&sourceid=opera&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    I am thinking you - SS, or someone else inadvertently invited something malignant into your system.
    Thinking fresh install, and if more than one person has use of the machine - log in separately.

    -0-
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. wgt52

    wgt52

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2016
    Messages:
    578
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Q1 - are running Win10?
    Q2 - Did create a Recovery Drive?
    Yes? Oh goody! No? Oh Shonet - Ask you computer supplier for a copy that works with your license, will cost a few quid.
    Q3 - do you have a recent (pre-problem) Back Up of your data (no the OS)?
    Yes - Good

    So then with 'Yes' answers follow the guidance in this web page
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-wipe-a-hard-drive-2624527

    Once that is complete - (Maybe even run it twice) then Run the recovery drive, and then load all 'apps' from fresh.

    Finally reload your data.

    Good Luck
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would DBAN work?
     
  16. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks everyone.

    Thinking of wiping the OS.

    Trouble is, I have 3 HDD's and 1 SSD, carrying the OS.

    The HDD's have got music, images and the contents of hard drives from previous PC's dating back to 1998.

    Does the whole lot need wiping?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...
Related Threads
  1. jefoss
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    598

Share This Page