Potentially overloading a socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hallo gents. I'm glad we know-nothings can hit a question into Google and end up at a forum like this. :)

To the point of the matter, I'm a student living in a somewhat old house, and I unfortunately also need my own fridge, which means that on a single socket, I am planning to have:

A) A gaming computer (600w PSU)
B) A fridge (medium size fridge up to waist height, not mini-fridge)
C) A somewhat old TV
D) The first generation of PlayStation 2
E) Smaller things such as a charger for a Nintendo DS, a modem and router, an alarm clock and a printer that is only switched on when necessary.

I'm no fool - I want to do some serious checking before I submit myself to an inevitable electric fire. The house is reasonably old, but the electricity is managed by a set of switches (I'm told this is information you'll use to advise me further).

Thanks in advance for your input.

- J. Wells

Sponsored Links
One Single Socket would be overloaded with all that on it, I assume you rent the room from someone, in which case you may wish to contact them and see if they can have a electrician look at increasing the points availiable and if the current circuits can take the extra loading.

I doubt you will be anywhere near 13A (about 3000w) even with all that lot plugged in.

So it's a case of looking for a specific total, and seeing how close it is? In whcih case, perhaps I should find out how much power my appliances take - can I find this on the plugs? (currently can't look myself)

Sponsored Links
You'll find the info on each of the appliance's rating plate.

Wattage is usually stamped onto a plate somewhere on the casing.

Appendix 8 Table 8B of the On Site Guide has good guidelines for numbers of sockets. The Socket may be adequate at the moment but it leaves little room for additional portable equipment that may be required at a later date.