1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing Electric Oven - Existing Cable is 6mm, Oven Specifies 4mm

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ritchieee, 22 Jul 2017.

  1. ritchieee

    ritchieee

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi folks, our existing old-skool Creda electric cooker is on its last legs, and just so happens that my brother was getting rid of his nearly new Belling cooker as he's having a new kitchen.

    The existing cable connecting to the Creda is 6mm (says so on the outer sheath). The new Belling oven says 4mm cable on the connector block at the back of the oven.

    Might be worth mentioning that the new Belling oven has a lower kW.

    Is it ok to use a bigger cable than specified? Load wise, I'd assume an over-specified cable isn't a problem, but my concern is whether the connections will tighten up correctly.

    Length of cable from cooker switch to oven is about a metre. From board to cooker switch is approx. 15m.

    Thanks :)

    ps, sorry, wasn't sure if this should be in the Electrics or Appliances forum.
     
  2. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem using a higher rated cable as long as it can be terminated correctly. You should be able to find a cooker outlet plate to do this. If necessary an electrician can advise on site and maybe put a lower MCB in your consumer unit if your 6mm can't be terminated into the "new" cooker.
     
  3. ritchieee

    ritchieee

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply. So to confirm you're saying that the connector box on the oven could be replaced with a 6mm one? Or do you mean the cooker switch?

    Honestly I'd like to avoid replacing the MCB if possible. That isn't work I can do so a brand new oven that's suitable would probably work out the same cost.
     
  4. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    41,296
    Thanks Received:
    2,558
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That probably won't be necessary. What is the rating of the present one?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  5. chivers67

    chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    Something like this behind it - if there isn't something like this already?. There should be no need to replace any switch as it should be higher current rating, be worth answering John's question
     
  6. ritchieee

    ritchieee

    Joined:
    28 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies folks.

    It's a 32A RCBO.

    All I can see is the cooker switch, and- I'm guessing here as I can't see with the kitchen units in the way - the 6mm must be buried below the surface and comes out at the bottom, then there's a bunch of cable directly wired to the oven. I can't see a plate as pictured. Unless that's behind a unit.

    I have just dropped my electrician a text (could've done that earlier I suppose, didn't want to be cheeky ha), who said it'll be fine, as long as it fits in the terminals. Interested in other opinions though. Thanks!
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    41,296
    Thanks Received:
    2,558
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's fine, then.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cable or heat resistant flex? I ask because it is normal for the manufacturer to request heat resistant flex.
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    28,901
    Thanks Received:
    3,089
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Just being awkward:

    I suppose no one has any qualms about disregarding the manufacturer's instructions in this case.

    Is that because they are wrong or because we know better?
     
  10. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    41,296
    Thanks Received:
    2,558
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Certainly not me - I would "take the instructions into account", as required by BS7671, and then do something sensible.
    I don't know about 'wrong', but I think that 'we' do know what is necessary, and what is sensible.

    KInd Regards, John
     
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also think that were "we" fitting it, "we" would be able to tell if the 6mm² was going to fit the terminals OK.

    As in
    There's also the cable type to consider, as in
    Not so much the heat resistance part, but again a terminal issue - if ritcheee's 6mm² cable is T&E, but the terminals are expecting fine-wire, again that might be an issue.


    Ritcheee - if you don't have any installation instructions, can you see if you can find them on Belling's website?

    Posting a close-up photo of the connector block would be helpful.
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page