Socket suddenly stopped working - any ideas

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

I'm no electrician but would appreciate your help.

Firstly - my house is up for sale so I don't want to have to spend anything on it if possible....

I noticed today that one of the power points in the bedroom was flickering on and off (lamps were flickering etc). On the opposite side of the wall is another power point which I presume feeds from the same source. I plugged the hoover in tonight and it ran for two minutes before stopping. Now both that socket and the one behind it do not work at all. Nothing. All other sockets in the house work fine. As do the lights.

Any ideas what might have happened. It seems like the cable that supplies those two sockets must be to blame as everything else is OK. Am I right in thinking they are on a ring so it must be the 'last' bit of cabling that runs from the ring to the sockets? Otherwise I would have thought that the entire ring would be dead.

Sorry if this sounds basic, but I haven't a clue and as I said, the place is for sale and I don't want to have to call an electrician out if it's a simple job.

Cheers!

Sponsored Links
If you think about it, a ring doesn't have a "last bit", and if one of the cables came out at the CU, or if there was a break in it somewhere, all of the sockets would still work.

You need to turn off the power to the socket circuits and remove those two from the wall and see if you can see anything wrong.

And you should do it asap - loose/dodgy connections can start fires...

Golfer1
Firstly, plug in a device you know works (eg table lamp) into both sockets.
If sockets still dead - check for tripped MCB at CU and reset if necessary. It might be worth checking if these sockets were originally spur units fed from an Off Peak CU and the time switch has turned them off.