THE OLD COLOUR CABLES STILL SELLING

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am an electrician working for a big company.

Does anybody know the situation with the supply of old colours/non harmonised cable drums? I see they are still available on Ebay, are thes from old stock does anybody know or they available some other way, ie will they run out soon as old stocks run out?

We are able to buy them at work as we can no longer use them and the longer we wait the cheaper it appears they will get. They have a lot of the stuff, and will probably be selling it to the employers still at the end of the year. But I don't know if it will be worth buying or waiting etc, ie I could buy it and sell it on Ebay later on at a profit. This would be a waste of time if people are easily able to get it else where, or it is still produced somewhere. Any info would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
very few places make old colours now and once they cant be used, they wont be makin them

So is it going to be worth buying to sell at a premium later, i.e. a bit like holding on to an old valuable plate and selling it later at a premium? I am a retired electrician so I know about part P and cable colours etc and so appreciate why people would want old coloured cables. Or am I just going to end up with a house full of unwanted cable for some reason I have not considered?

old colour cable is very useful for installing new circuits in your own house in december 2004 ;)

Sponsored Links
andy said:
very few places make old colours now and once they cant be used, they wont be makin them
Explain why they can't be used.....?

Happyhero - I understand your quandary. Prices on eBay have been ludicrously high - I've seen people pay nearly £50 (inc delivery) for 100m of red/black 2.5mm².....

Don't know what prices are like now, or if they will hold up. I guess April will be the crunch time...

pdcelec said: