tiling to unfinshed wall?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Got a small stand-alone toilet room off the upstairs landing and the top coat plaster was all blown so taken it off back to the rough undercoat plaster

Can I tile direct to this, or do I need to skim a new coat of plaster on first?

If I dot/dab plasterboard instead can I tile direct to that or does it need plastering first?

Want to avoid plastering really, as I've never done it before!!!

Idid think I could use aquaboard instead of plasterboard to line the wall first and be able to tile direct to that but the instructions say it must be fixed to battens and I haven't got enough space to batten it first - it will end up too deep.

Any help appreciated

Sponsored Links
Tiling onto bonding/undercoat is not a good idea as the adhesive doesnt bond well to it.
You can dot and dab plasterbrd on though and tile directly onto it as you suggested.

Tiling onto bonding/undercoat is not a good idea as the adhesive doesnt bond well to it.

really??

I guess it depends on the adhesive. There are plenty of readymix adhesives on the market that are fine to use on bonding / undercoat. To be honest I would much rather tile onto a good undercoat than a smooth top-coat as it gives a better key - in fact, some adhesive manufacturers recommend NOT to tile direct to top coat plaster without wire-brushing it first.

Sponsored Links
I've already got BAL rapidset flexible for the floor and bathroom walls.

Would that be OK to use instead of Grip or Blue star?

If they are med tiles and as its only a wc I would use bal green star.trade price from my local topps is about £6.50
You could use the rapid flexi if you wanted though.

For that size tile use powdered adhesive.

PVA, I never use the stuff,I always go for acrylic primer,would probably be ok in a wc though.

And is it OK to use PVA to seal the walls first (1 to 3 mix?)