What are your thoughts on this please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
9540DFD2-4124-4CF8-8270-AF8448F933C5.jpeg
9540DFD2-4124-4CF8-8270-AF8448F933C5.jpeg
took this photo today replacing a washing machine!

Sponsored Links
It is wrongly wired and too much outer insulation has been removed so the cord grip does not grip.

It's not right - unless the same at the other end of the cable. :)
I’m not stupid I merely asked your thoughts.
Would it work faultlessly or cause problems? I’m a Plumber who knows how it should be wired.
More advanced than a brain surgeon! Xxxxx

Sponsored Links
Clearly wrong, however have seen many a central heating system using wrong colours, so would need to ring the earth to be sure not reversed other side as well.

With non RCD protected circuits it would work, and likely the user would be unaware of the error.

I’m not stupid I merely asked your thoughts. Would it work faultlessly or cause problems?
What EFLI said was correct. If it were wired in that same (incorrect) fashion at the WM end (which is incredibly unlikely), then it would work totally 'faultlessly', the only thing wrong being the colours used for the earth and neutral. If the WM end were wired conventionally (which it almost certainly would be) then it might appear to work 'faultlessly' if there were no RCD, but would cause the RCD to trip if there were one.

Kind Regards, John

I found the same wiring in a plug attached to a fridge (In a factory electrical department). I needed a plug for my stereo and nicked the one off the fridge. The fridge worked just fine.

It was common to find this error until the law changed so plugs were fitted before you buy. However this has also resulted in children not being taught at school how to fit a plug, and the distance buying has resulted in items arriving in the UK with non UK plugs fitted.