3 pin plug to socket

Joined
19 Oct 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
I've got a plan to wire a 3 pin plug to a wago box that will then feed 2 single sockets, one on either side of the bed (effectively an extension cable with fixed outlets as far as I'm concerned). I'd like to do this instead of a spur. Any reason not to do this as long as the plug is fused appropriately?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,425
Reaction score
2,360
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
No problem with what you plan, but why not just have two extension leads, each with at least two sockets. one short and one long.
Plug the short one into the wall socket, plug the long one into the short one.
No need to mess around with Wagos, etc.
 

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
14,080
Reaction score
4,313
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
What size cable are you planning to use?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
19 Oct 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
No problem. Why not have two extension leads, each with at least two sockets. one short and one long. Plug the short one into the socket, plug the long one into the short one.
No need to mess around with Wagos, etc.
Primarily neatness and aesthetics. I've got a light switch on the wall on either side of the bed for bedside lamps which are wall-mounted and I wanted to have a socket next to them to charge phones etc. Rather than having extension cable spaghetti on the floor under the bed, I'd like to run additional cables through the existing conduit for the lights to power the sockets
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,425
Reaction score
2,360
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to understand your expectations

You are planning to run sockets wired from the existing lighting switches. Is that correct?
 

CBW

Joined
26 Sep 2019
Messages
14,080
Reaction score
4,313
Location
North
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to understand your expectations

You are planning to run sockets wired from the existing lighting switches. Is that correct?
My initial thoughts were same as yours, but then I’m guessing OP means there’s already conduit with lighting wiring inside, and they want to run a separate cable for sockets in the same conduit.
 
Joined
19 Oct 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
My initial thoughts were same as yours, but then I’m guessing OP means there’s already conduit with lighting wiring inside, and they want to run a separate cable for sockets in the same conduit.
Yes that's correct. The lights run off one plug and I want the sockets to run off another - both from the same double socket with the wires in the same conduit
 
  • Thanks
Reactions: CBW
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
7,220
Reaction score
649
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
2.5 t&e in conduit from the box and 2.5 flex to the plug
You don't need anything like 2.5mm²
1.25mm² flex is adequate for a 13A extention lead, if you are able to get 2 of those cables into one conduit there's no need for a junction box.

Additionally if these sockets are really only for charging phones etc then 1mm² or 0.75mm² flex could be used with 10A or 5A fuse in the plug.
 
Joined
19 Oct 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
You don't need anything like 2.5mm²
1.25mm² flex is adequate for a 13A extention lead, if you are able to get 2 of those cables into one conduit there's no need for a junction box.

Additionally if these sockets are really only for charging phones etc then 1mm² or 0.75mm² flex could be used with 10A or 5A fuse in the plug.
When you say no need for a junction box, do you mean I can wire them into the same plug? The idea of the junction box was to split the flex from the single plug out and then have one cable to each side of the bed with a socket for each. The socket I want to use to feed these is in the middle of the bed behind the headboard with one currently feeding a light on each side in the exact same configuration as I want for the sockets.
 
Joined
19 Oct 2021
Messages
35
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, you could do that if the cable fits.

I am puzzled. Where is this conduit you mention?
Currently wired to a switch on either side of the bed that controls a sconce light on each side. I want the sockets to be near to there (think how a hotel has sockets next to the bedside table
 
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
39,038
Reaction score
4,819
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
Currently wired to a switch on either side of the bed that controls a sconce light on each side. I want the sockets to be near to there (think how a hotel has sockets next to the bedside table
Yes, but they don't have accessible conduit.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top