Advice On Setting Up To Undertake Landlords EICR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not an electrical problem as such but more a request for advice on a potential career! I am a qualified electrical engineer (so not an electrician) but I am very practical and undertake my own electrical work (house re-wire, panel change etc - with professional sign-off by others where required) so I like to think that I have a reasonable knowledge of the profession. I am looking into the possibility of training to undertake Landlords EICR work and would appreciate some guidance on time and cost to set myself up to do this (training, equipment, insurance, timescales etc.). Also, how abundant is this type of work (I'm not looking to do this full time but really a couple of days a week). Any advice would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
1 - obtain appropriate qualifications and training via one of the approved routes https://www.electricalcareers.co.uk/joining-the-industry/training-routes/ , typically 3 to 5 years
2 - work in the domestic electric sector for at least another 5 years and preferably longer.
3 - enjoy landlord types who want to pay you £50 to give them a piece of paper that states all is well regardless of the condition of the installation.

I'm not looking to do this full time but really a couple of days a week
Not going to happen.

The big problem is there is no real standard, protentially dangerous is so open to interpretation, you can't win either way. Most protentially dangerous item can be simply Improvement recomended without any real come back, you have noted the fault, so no one can say you have not raised the issue.

Sponsored Links
The big problem is there is no real standard, protentially dangerous is so open to interpretation, you can't win either way. Most protentially dangerous item can be simply Improvement recomended without any real come back, you have noted the fault, so no one can say you have not raised the issue.