Boiler Change

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just wondering what you old timer self employed guys charge? I'm just starting up on my own in north west england and have just got a straight combi swap. old non condensing vaillant to be replaced with worcester 37cdi, flue hole will need bricking but other than that straight forward. I thought about £350 for labour . is this about right?

Sponsored Links
I would have thought around £650 - £700 + VAT for me plus all materials and parts and including powerflush.

Sorry moderator8 - I'm thought that was ok- I'm not a customer asking for a quote here, I'm an engineer who will be doing the job .

Thanks gas4you. I wouldn't be doing a powerflush, just running a cleanser through the week before . Are you in the north? also I'm not VAT reg as I have no idea whether I'll earn enough yet. :) Just don't want to sell myself short or overcharge the customer really.

When you guys first started out on your own how did you work out what you should be charging?
I expect you have a daily or hourly rate and a job rate depending on the type of job?

Sponsored Links
I have a daily rate which varies slightly depending on how far I have to travel to the job.

I use my hourly rate for breakdowns and call outs, although my first hour is extra high to allow travel and van costs etc.

My first hour is charged for attending, whether I am there 10 minutes of the full hour.

Tabs, up here you should be looking at around £450 for a straight swap. This will include few materials required, copper, fittings, system cleanser, system protector,Ect ect.

Look to earn a wage, profit, overhead costs on a daily basis. It wont come all at once, a time spent building a customer base and referals is what you'll do first.

PS, put some cash to one side each week to cover them rainy days, cause they'll come :rolleyes:

PPS where abouts are you ;)

gas4you said:
I have a daily rate which varies slightly depending on how far I have to travel to the job.