Castle Euro Mini;Problems adding an additional RKP

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm having problems adding a second keypad to a castle euro mini. I've never done it before though I've installed several euros and the similar pyronix PCX systems without trouble.

I installed the original system a few years ago without a problem using one RKP.
Now I need to add another. I ordered a new keypad and wired it in as per the manual.

Then I checked the original keypad was addressed as '00' (it was).
I went into the keypad menu of the new RKP and set the address to '01' and saved it.

Then I went to the original keypad and went into engineer mode. I checked the 'keypad 00' type was set to 'keypad' and then added a new keypad at address '01' of type which I changed from 'not used' to 'keypad'. The only other type-option here is 'tag reader'.

When I exited engineer mode, the panel went into fault mode with the code '485 fail - 201'. The manual translates this as 'there is a problem with keypad 01', (new RKP). I guess it's complaining it can't see a keypad on address 01.

The new RKP is blank, lit up, but won't communicate with the panel. I can enter keypad settings and check the address etc but as soon as I exit, it goes blank. If I drop the RS485 wires off, it reports '485 link fault' so it's obviously seeing it's in the loop.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong??!

Sponsored Links
that sounds correct , fitted one the other day with two keypads , as long as you have gone into keypad set up and changed 01 to keypad it should work , did you exit engineering as it saves the changes at this stage ?

Sponsored Links
Perhaps try re-addressing keypad 01 as 00 and see if it works in the position of the original keypad. Also worth checking the new keypad on a short piece of alarm cable straight into the panel.

DIYnot Local

Staff member