1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

fitting a light switch flush with a Cupboard

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by james19000, 20 Aug 2020.

  1. james19000

    james19000

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    I would like to fit a light switch to sit flush with a wooden cupboard.

    Would it be possible/ allowed to put a metal back box into the wooden frame of the Cupboard.

    I've attached a photo to help show what I'm thinking off.

    The existing light switch used to sit on top of the cupboard and it would look so much better if it was flush.

    Thank you.

    Untitled 2.jpg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,588
    Thanks Received:
    935
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you can do that (assuming you earth the back box).

    You need a way of fixing the box to the wood - either make a batten to sit on the surface inside the cupboard,
    or
    drill holes in the side of the box, and screw to sides of recess.

    First option may reduce the chances of foreign matter entering any holes in the box.
     
  4. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    18,432
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    now i could be well wrong but that looks like perhaps planed 4x1 so 95mm with perhaps 9mm door stop so down to 86mm and the switch perhaps 85mm so no or near zero space have you checked the front will allow a switch plate and the door to open and indeed looks right as a few mm visible wood would look nicer than a switch overhanging into the clearance gap (y)
    or have you looked at a narrow frame switch ??
     
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,711
    Thanks Received:
    770
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A standard switch is 86mm wide, however that metal box is for an architrave switch which is 32mm wide
     
  6. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    18,432
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also just noticed screw holes are 90% out so switch between screw so no side to side fixings:D
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,582
    Thanks Received:
    2,837
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As rocky has said, that's an architrave back box - so if that's what the OP is planning to use, not only is it very narrow but the lugs for faceplate screws are, correctly, at top and bottom.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,566
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just use a dry lining backbox? All you need to do then is cut the whole in your cupboard, fit the box which will fix itself to the woodwork and then wire up the switch?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. james19000

    james19000

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats right its an architrave back box.

    So I'm going to use my router to route out a space to accommodate the back box and glue the back box inside the wood using some kind of epoxy.

    this will allow the face plate to sit flush with the face of the wood frame
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,566
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have a look at a dry wall box. It'll be much easier to fit, more secure and will still allow your light switch to sit flush.
     
  12. james19000

    james19000

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i can't find one that I can fit a slim architrave toggle switch.. like this.

    If you know where I can get a slim dry wall box, pls let me know.

    Thanks


    Screen Shot 2020-08-21 at 13.08.18.png
     
  13. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,582
    Thanks Received:
    2,837
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Judging my my own searches, and other discussions I've seen about this over the years, I suspect that 'dry lining/plasterboard back boxes for architrave switches probably don't exist. That doesn't really surprise me because if they used the same sort of mechanism as the larger dry-lining boxes, the plastic bits of the mechanism would more-or-less fill up the box, leaving no space for the switch!

    When I've done it, I've used either metal ones or even 'surface' ones sunk so as to be flush with the wall service (secured by battens or whatever). If you go with a metal one, you could secure it by one of the methods that have been discussed, but you might find it easier using something like these, which sort-of emulate a plasterboard box ...

    upload_2020-8-21_14-3-30.png

    Kind Regards, John
     
  14. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    66,669
    Thanks Received:
    3,636
    Location:
    Coastal
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Why must the switch be a narrow one?
     
  15. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    44,582
    Thanks Received:
    2,837
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As big-all said above, it looks as if the OP may have only around 86mm to play with. Even if a standard single-size switch would 'just fit', it would probably not look too good.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  16. Sureitsoff?

    Sureitsoff?

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but the plastic bits that hold the box to the plasrterboard are outside the box so the inside is free to house a switch. the screw lugs would intrude the same as a metal box
     
  17. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    18,432
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you cant use a router unless you can take the cabinet out as the base plate will put the cutter perhaps 30-45mm from the edge
     
Loading...

Share This Page