1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Fuse/Socket Question?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by dingo doo, 8 Sep 2021.

  1. dingo doo

    dingo doo

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My main fusebox in my home has various fuses from B6 to B40.

    One of the current fuse is a B6 and is for the door bell. I no longer use the door bell so still have the transformer and a separate switch to turn off. I was thinking of removing the switch and replacing it with a single 13a plug socket so it can power my broadband router.

    Is the B6 fuse/circuit suitable to be reused to power router? It would only be used to power router which will power 12v 2.5amp adaptor

    Basically can I replace the switch for a socket so it can power internet router without any issues?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, as that doesn't have an RCD. All socket outlets require RCD protection.
    Changing it to an RCBO may be an option.
    The installation is 6 years overdue for an inspection.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,812
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or put it on the spare 16amp mob on the RCD side ….
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,453
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Won’t that be a new (notifiable) circuit?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A non-compliant notifiable new circuit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,266
    Thanks Received:
    1,703
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would swap the FCU for a RCD socket. It may not fully comply, but safe enough, can't do that if renting, but owner occupier use common sense.
     
  8. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,916
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the wiring were surface mounted, would it comply then?
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page