Gas Meter Fixing

Joined
28 Jun 2006
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I was just looking at my gas meter and noticed the right hand side appears to be hanging loose.


Can you tell me:-
- is anything wrong with this picture?
- what is needed to correct it (if not correct already)
- whose responsibility is it? (mine?)

A few months ago I had a new boiler fitted in the loft and the plumbers had to change the gas supply to the boiler from 22mm to 28mm coper pipe.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Oct 2009
Messages
24,258
Reaction score
8,791
Country
United Kingdom
Thousands like it, it will be ok . But it should have a little adaptor bracket on it that goes into the groove on the fitting.

You could phone NG to come out and put one on
 
Joined
4 Jan 2014
Messages
1,271
Reaction score
183
Location
Lanarkshire
Country
United Kingdom
The Meter Union is the wrong size(it should be 1"" x28mm) & not fitted into the slot correctly, this is an AR fault as the meter is only supported by the pipe work above. Whoever fitted the should be called back to sort it out.

You see it a lot, increased pipe size & the meter union is too small!!.... :rolleyes:
That's the problem with a highly regulated industry polluted with course cowboys & chancers.
 
Joined
4 Jan 2014
Messages
1,271
Reaction score
183
Location
Lanarkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Yes can see that, so what would it need for 35mm ?

But it only needs 28mm, well, according to the photo anyway!!

Last time we needed a 35mm gas supply on a domestic install we changed the U6 for a bigger meter, if I recall correctly? That reminds me; I must renew my ACOPS gas ticket.

Perhaps the concept of a 'bottleneck' meter union is lost on you?
 
Joined
27 Oct 2009
Messages
24,258
Reaction score
8,791
Country
United Kingdom
The union is not the wrong size it is an old style meter bracket with a new style meter outlet and needs a little bracket dead simple
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Oct 2007
Messages
819
Reaction score
223
Location
Essex
Country
United Kingdom
Yes can see that, so what would it need for 35mm ?

But it only needs 28mm, well, according to the photo anyway!!

Last time we needed a 35mm gas supply on a domestic install we changed the U6 for a bigger meter, if I recall correctly? That reminds me; I must renew my ACOPS gas ticket.

Perhaps the concept of a 'bottleneck' meter union is lost on you?

The point I'm making is if there is less than the allowed pressure drop across the pipework then there is no need for a 1" meter union

Surely you didn't fit a u16 just because you needed 35mm pipework with a demand of less than 6m3

Didn't someone just mention the industry being full of cowboys & chancers !!!!
 
Joined
27 Oct 2009
Messages
24,258
Reaction score
8,791
Country
United Kingdom
AND ? a 28mm / outlet is still the same size at the grove that fits into the bracket as the one that has been used and would still need need the little bracket that should have been fitted
 
Joined
27 Oct 2009
Messages
24,258
Reaction score
8,791
Country
United Kingdom
28mm outlet still have the same internal bore as 22mm outlets and cost around 3 or 4 times the price of just using a 22 to 28 adaptor so ts completly pointless buying and using them in most circumstances outside of a meter box
 
Joined
28 Sep 2013
Messages
534
Reaction score
74
Country
United Kingdom
You wouldn't use a grooved union in this instance though, standard union straight onto the 28 pipe.
 
Joined
27 Oct 2009
Messages
24,258
Reaction score
8,791
Country
United Kingdom
WTF are you on about the old meter outlets designed for that old meter bracket in the picture are no longer avialable to NG /transco hence why they use an adaptor bracket or fit a new style wall bracket completely
 
Joined
4 Jan 2014
Messages
1,271
Reaction score
183
Location
Lanarkshire
Country
United Kingdom
WTF are you on about the old meter outlets designed for that old meter bracket in the picture are no longer avialable to NG /transco hence why they use an adaptor bracket or fit a new style wall bracket completely

Well, the new build I was working on today had the same bracket as the one shown in the photo, so you're misinformed mate.
 
Sponsored Links
Top