1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive vs Logic 30+

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by wheelq, 3 Mar 2021.

  1. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have checked all posts on this forum, and I could not find anyone in the same situation as me.

    Hive model: Dual Channel
    Hive Wiring: Never changed, just kept switching boilers
    Why dual: Long time ago this was the only model available. I do not use and I'm not planning to use water preheating.
    Problem: With the new boiler I have no idea how to wire the hive to it

    Hive wiring (always worked, never changed):

    [​IMG]


    Previous boiler wiring (worked perfectly fine with hive wiring posted above):
    [​IMG]


    New boiler ideal Logic 30+ combi (Room Stat/Timer is attached but not not connected on the other end):

    [​IMG]

    I am not an electrician, so instructions over hints would be very useful :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 3 Mar 2021
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,565
    Thanks Received:
    1,511
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's single channel Hive wiring, because:

    1) There is a link between terminals L and 1. The dual channel Hive has the link to live made internally

    2) terminal 4 is the heating control with dual channel, and terminal 3 the single channel, and your wire is in 3.


    Capture.JPG

    Anyway, if you say it has been working like that, then it is a single channel. The Hive N & L supply remains. Remove the link between L and 1 and the two black wires from the "boiler room stat / timer" go in terminals 1 & 3, it doesn't matter whicy way around.

    But really, using green / yellow (earth) wires for live wires is not good.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,911
    Thanks Received:
    8,615
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a single channel not a dual channel
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,911
    Thanks Received:
    8,615
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The single channel was out for many years before the Dual channel
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    7,136
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Out of interest, how do you know?
     
  7. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    7,136
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’m not sure why you Line, Neutral and possibly switch live are installed using circuit protective conductor? Very bad practice.
     
  8. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, so this is dual channel, but someone wired as if it was one (maybe it was the boiler I had before those two). Let me rewire as instructed for dual and will let you know.
     
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,911
    Thanks Received:
    8,615
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hive dual channel doesnt use links, and heating on is terminal 4 on hive dual channel
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,911
    Thanks Received:
    8,615
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post a pic of your hive receiver unit, if you actually have a dual channel that wiring wouldnt work
     
  12. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    attached
     

    Attached Files:

  13. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so single channel has 1 (common) and 3 (heating on)
    since I have a dual channel, there is no common, so what should be the wiring for dual?
     
  14. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,565
    Thanks Received:
    1,511
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Something is wrong here. You post a photo of a backplate wired up as a Single Channel Hive and tell us:
    Then you post a photo of a Dual Channel Hive receiver, which would never have worked on the backplate with the wiring connected as you show. I refer you to the diagram from the Hive manual in my earlier post. The 'Heating On' wire of the Hive Dual Channel is connected to terminal 4. and you don't have a wire in terminal 4!

    So I believe that either there is something you are not telling us, or if not, this is a wind up.

    If it is a Dual Channel Hive, the N & L are straightforward. And then the switched live terminal from the boiler (that has one of the black wires in) goes to Hive terminal 4. They are the only 3 wires needed. No links required. The other room stat terminal remains empty as shown in the diagram from the Logic+ Combi manual below.

    Capture.JPG
     
    Last edited: 4 Mar 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you so much!

    This is why I started this post with: "Never changed, just kept switching boilers". Now I can see it shouldn't work but it does. I only added this, just in case I'm not aware of something, or there is a valid reason why was it set up like this.

    No wind up :) this is why I posted photos, I just need help how to wire this.

    - Ok, so L & N are ok.
    - I have removed the link
    - Cable from terminal 4 goes instead of one black wire
    - what about the second black wire? Which terminal should it go to? 2?
     
  16. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,156
    Thanks Received:
    2,491
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This might help to explain the difference between Dual Channel Hive and Single Channel Hive terminals

    0x56.jpg
     
  17. wheelq

    wheelq

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, but all I need to know is which terminal (1,2,3,4) needs to be connected to the room stat in order to control the heating. I am not planning to control the water temp. Based on the diagram posted above it looks like terminal 4 should go to one of the room stat connections, and terminal 2 should go to L yes? but then what should be connected to the second room stat in/out? Thats the piece I'm missing
     
Loading...

Share This Page