1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving the main supply cable

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by symbiosis, 11 Feb 2019.

  1. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Having a new staircase put in and typically the main electrical supply cable and fuse is right in the way.

    Comes up though the wooden floor and is high up on the wall (so there is plenty of cable to play with). I just need it moved about 3ft over to the right (so it will be under the stairs)

    Im currently with British Gas for my supply so do I need to contact them or who if not please?

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2019
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,448
    Thanks Received:
    2,256
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Western Power and they want a grand + Vat!!! Daylight robbery
     
  5. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,908
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    May be cheaper if you dig the hole outside yourself.
     
  6. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't even need a hole, just a floorboard removed and the cable moved 3 ft to the right - there's more than enough of it there to do that
     
  7. Iamchamps

    Iamchamps

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As you are unable to isolate it you could be tempted to do yourself but very dangerous if something went wrong.
     
  8. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,908
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unlikely it will be done that way - live cables are not normally moved at all.

    More likely is that it will be cut at a convenient point, a new cable installed to the new location and then jointed to the old one.
     
  9. garyo

    garyo

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    2,063
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought electricians moved ply backer boards all the time (ie shift the meter and main fuse board a few inches assuming theres enough play on the incoming armoured cable)

    Mine did last month anyway.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,455
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Potentially it's a dangerous thing to do, particularly with the older, stiffer cable.

    No one here would advise doing such a thing, particularly on a DIY forum.

    Only a grand and a bit, you can't take it with you!
     
  12. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont worry, definitely not tempted to do it myself! Cant see why they would want to install a new cable though, are they not flexible to some degree? The floor just needs lifting and the existing cable run under to the new location (there's more than enough slack to do so). Here's a picture HouseModelStairs.jpg Here's a picture
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2019
  13. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No such thing as ONLY a grand and a bit lol
     
  14. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    34,808
    Thanks Received:
    1,092
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Assuming you did do it yourself (and I'm NOT suggesting you do), how would you do it?

    You effectively have a wire coming up through the floor and behind the 'case with a big board on the end of it.

    Or is there a big gap between the wall and the 'case?
     
  15. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Stairs aren't there yet. The supply is in a cupboard that's being taken out and the stairs are then going in as shown . That's why I want it moved prior
     
  16. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Moan about it as much as you like - it is still going to cost you what they say it will.
     
  17. symbiosis

    symbiosis

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just pointing out it's flipping robbery
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page