1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Network with Cat6, Cat6a or Cat7 cable

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by bineet, 14 May 2020.

  1. bineet

    bineet

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello
    I was wondering if anyone could help.

    I am planning to re wire the network cables and trying to future proof as well.

    I was wondering whether there is any difference between cat6 and cat6a cables.

    Also reading on the internet, users have commented that cat7 is a pain to install and if not done correctly, it can mess the speeds up. So I am trying to establish a middle ground.

    Also, i wanted to ask if the cat6 rj45 module wall socket is compatible with cat6a (if there is a difference between cat6a or cat6)

    The future plan is to install a cctv camera that would be powered over ethernet (thinking to get a Swann cctv system installed in future)

    Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated and thank you for your help in advance. Stay safe

    Cheers
    LK
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's highly unlikely that your average domestic installation is going to exceed the capabilities of even CAT5e cabling to be honest, especially where CCTV is concerned. CAT6a is basically a higher performance version of CAT6 but again, the advantages aren't likely to be apparent in short cable runs. Personally I would stick with CAT5e as it's a bit cheaper, has a smaller diameter and is easier to work with compared to the bulkier CAT6.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. reds42

    reds42

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In a domestic setting:

    Cat7 - totally over the top and uneccasery.
    Cat6/cat6a - overkill, but if it makes you happy so be it.
    Cat5e - perfectly adequate and easy to run/work with. Not going to have any problems running a few cameras.

    As someone who's run a fair bit of cat5e, cat6a, even run and terminated fiber in a profesional capacity my house is wired with.... cat5e. Cheap and more than adequate.

    Edit: just be sure to steer clear of CCA (copper clad aluminium) junk and stick to pure copper cables.
     
    Last edited: 14 May 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  5. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,618
    Thanks Received:
    1,297
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes the absolute best piece of advice is to make sure you only use solid copper cat cable, and absolutely avoid copper coated aluminium cable (CCA)

    Even some “reputable” companies such as toolstation will supply CCA as standard, and you will have nothing but trouble with it.

    I have a mixture of cat5e utp, cat5e ftp and cat6 at home, just what ever I had on the van at the time, and send 700TVL and 2MP CCTV, and HDTV (sky) as well as internet over it no problem.

    We occasionally install cat6a and cat7 at work but only really for longer runs of things like HD projector feeds but it is not necessary for domestic installations.

    I recently did a full refurbishment of a family members house and installed 36 outlets all wired in cat5e ftp as it was what I had, but you need to buy ftp outlets to take advantage of this cable.
     
  6. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    35,228
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some of our house is run with Cat 7 only because I got a stellar deal on it.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    3,518
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Running some CAT6 at the moment, biggest pain is not kinking it in the wallplates. Plus point is the cores are chunkier than CAT5 so it'll be more tolerant of terminal block (if you're using it for some random non-data application)
     
  9. bineet

    bineet

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you everyone for your advice. I think I will go with cat5e most probably. If I decide cat6 shielded, do I need to have a ground / earth connection in the wall sockets
     
  10. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    5,859
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cost of cat6 really isn’t that much more than cat5. But I agree with everyone else on performance. If you are running PoE then it’s likely that your switch will have a 2gbit limit unless you are looking to spend a lot. CCTV will run fine on 100mbit switches.
     
  11. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would cat6 twice to each position and die old and gracefully not ever worrying about it again.

    EDIT: I believe cat6a starts with grounding. I have never used this but read works manuals.
     
    Last edited: 16 May 2020
  12. SimonH2

    SimonH2

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    5,631
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Grounding in FTP applications is a dark art in itself, I would install UTP. Cat5e will do pretty well anything I can think of in a normal house, Cat6 is a better spec, but more work to terminate, above that is a waste of time and money.
    Be aware that screened (FTP) cable can actually have worse performance for some application than UTP - due to the extra capacitance between cores and the screen.
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page