New CU, suit you Sir

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I’m looking for logic check on some work I’m planning to do, it’s quite a read so settle in, but please check my logic, anything else I should do or check?

First things first, no I’m not a qualified electrician but am a competent person, well at least more competent than the electrician who originally installed my CU. But if we can do away with the "you shouldn’t be doing this" etc., I know

I want to replace the main CU in the house for a couple of reasons, mainly because I have run SWA out to my shed and my consumer unit is plastic, and seeing as the regulations now call for a steel enclosure, all the better for fitting my SWA gland.

The CU is a 16way unbranded piece of crap filled with a mix of different brands of mcb’s. It’s totally jammed full of wiring, nothing is labelled, and there are no spare earth connections left for the extra circuits I wish to add.

What I have:

1x Hagar SB299U 100A main incomer switch
4x Hagar MT106 6A single pole type B mcb’s (lighting circuits)
Wylex B63 (PSB63-B) mcb (this isolates the feed to the annex’s CU)
Hagar CD263U 63A RCCB (protecting the power circuits below)
5x Hagar MT132 32A SP type B
1x Hagar MT140 40A SP type B (doesn’t appear to be connected)

Electrically my house is as follows:
  • TN-C-S Earth system
  • Domestic supply with incoming meter feed switch (i.e. I can pull apart my CU isolated from live feeds)
  • Annex with separate CU, Feed from main CU (RCD in the annex CU for annex power sockets)
  • Shed with separate CU, feed from main CU (or at least will be)
To begin I need to figure out what’s what in the box as nothing is labelled so I’ll go around the house make sure everything works, light bulbs etc then switch off 1 mcb at a time and figure out what no longer has power.
I am confused as to why an mcb would have two reds coming out of it but I’m sure ill figure this out as I go through this.