please HELP with Vaillant 428 on Y plan Honeywell System

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had a new boiler installed by a gas fitter, Vaillant 428. He also installed 3 Way valve and a new Cylinder and a new pump and a room thermostat. All honeywell y plan pack.

I'm an electrician and I thought I would wire it up according to the Y plan Wiring Diagram. But the problem is according to Vaillant hand book the Pump should be wired to the Pump terminals in the boiler, but the Y plan connects the pump to the mains going to the boiler.

Does the boiler need a separate fixed feed for mains, or can i use the diagram below to wire it up.

http://www.honeywelluk.com/Documents/All/pdf/940.pdf.

At the moment i have done all the wiring according to the diagram in pdf above, but don't want to switch it on till i'm sure.

Please help.

Sponsored Links
you need a permanent live to L terminal use term 4 for the switching from timer/room stat
wire the live from the boilers pump connection direct to the pump, doesn't matter about Neutral/Earth you can take these from the wiring centre or the boilers pump connection

Please just confirm,

i need to connect the live from the boiler to the pump. right? and don't bother with connecting the pump to the 10 way junction box unless i want the neutral and earth which i can take from the boiler too? (Basically connect pump to the pump connectors on Vaillant 428)

And provide live to boiler from mains and not through the junction box. So how would i have any connection between the junction box and other instruments that are connected to the junction box.

You need a perm live into the boiler, the pump is connected into the boiler, and the orange from the 3 way valve is connected into the switched live in the boiler.

Sponsored Links
on a y plan terminal 1 in the wiring centre should be perm live
terminal 8&9 are usually linked

take a live to the boiler live from term 1
take a live (switched) to terminal 4 on boiler from 8/9