Quotes for complete Rewire- Fair?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a complete novice, trying to find my way, as I muddle through my first property purchase and will appreciate some help from this forum.

I am buying a 1930's semi-detached in Petts Wood (1200 sq ft, 2 rooms+kitchen+WC downstairs, 2 regular and one small bedroom upstairs, with family bathroom).

I have got a couple of quotes from local electricians (both of them came recommended) for a full rewire before we move in, but they seem quite expensive (one of them has quoted £5k, another close to £4.5k), cost of material is about £1500, the rest is for labor. I can really do with some help here. I get the feeling that, either I am asking for too much or the electricians are asking for too much. The details of what I am looking for are below:

Installation of about 45 lights and 40 double sockets (plastic ones). Details below (for each room i have provided the number of normal lights, down-lights and double sockets i have requested for)

Ground
------
Entrance-------2, 0, 1
Living Room----0, 6, 8
Dining Room----0, 6, 4
Kitchen--------0, 4, 8
WC------------0, 1, 0
Under Stairs----0, 1, 0

First Floor
-----------
Landing Area---0, 2, 1
Bedroom 1-----0, 4, 4
Bedroom 2-----0, 4, 4
Bedroom 3-----0, 2, 2
En Suite-------0, 2, 1
Bathroom------2, 0, 1

Others
-------
Loft-----------2, 0, 2
Exterior-------6, 0, 2
Garage--------1, 0, 2

In addition, I am also asking for the installation of 2 Exhaust Fans (for the bathrooms), Sky connection to the rooms, TV & CAT 6, electrical connections for a new megaflo and a new Consumer Unit.

Many thanks in advance.
Sunil

Sponsored Links
with the amount of downlighters I'm not suprised.

I'd expect around 3k for a standard basic rewire, but with all the extras the prices sound more than reasonable.

Downlights require quite a bit more installation time compared with a standard centre light.