1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing kitchen light

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Lee Bowden, 28 May 2019.

  1. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    Replacing kitchen light but not sure of the wiring. 2 light switches in kitchen, old light was a strip light.
    3 live, 3 neutral and 3 earth.
    There is nothing indicating that 1 of the neutrals is a live.

    Please help lol

    Many thanks

    Lee
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well, there sort of is. Whether it is accurate is impossible to tell.


    Do you have a multimeter?
     
  4. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there? I haven't got one on me but I can get one if it helps.
     
  5. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh if you mean the string. I put that on lol
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, I did mean the string. Why did you put it on?
     
  7. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought it may be the live out of the 3. So with my light... do I isolate all 3 reds? Find out which is the live out of the 3 blacks. Pair up the 2 blacks (neutral) then single out the black which is live. Connect to light obviously 2 blacks to N and 1 black to L. There is no where to put the earth so do they get isolated aswell?
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Why did you think that?

    Sort of. You connect them all together.

    That's right.

    Connected together, yes.
     
  9. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah isolate the 3 earth and 3 reds as a group of 3. Right... thank you I'll go get my multi meter. Thanks for your help.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Connect the three together. Isolate is not quite the right word.

    Before you do that, though -
    When you have -

    switch OFF power at consumer unit.
    Set meter to ohms (Ω) beep. Touch probes together to ensure it works.

    Put one probe on a black and the other on the red from the same cable.

    Have someone turn the light switch on and off and see if beep goes on and off with the switch.
     
  12. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lovely thanks very much. Hopefully I can now sort this.
     
  13. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No beeping beeps. Fuse is out of box so all power to house lights out. Is that right?
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, that's right.

    One of the cables should beep when you turn the switch on - if it is wired the usual way.


    Power OFF
    Neutrals will be connected together at the CU.
    Try with probes on two of the blacks, and then a different two.
    Is there one which does not beep? That is not connected to the other two.
     
  15. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No beeps with any combination...
     
  16. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    29,868
    Thanks Received:
    3,221
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Have you got the meter set to right thing and leads in COM & VΩ?

    upload_2019-5-28_17-10-52.png
     
  17. Lee Bowden

    Lee Bowden

    Joined:
    28 May 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is my setup. When probs touch they beep.
     

    Attached Files:

Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page