Retraining to Boiler Engineer - any advice ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,
I currently work in the chemical industry and due to redundancy I am going to retrain to enable me to go self employed.
My plan is to get certified in electrical (I am already time served electrician) and train up to get certified in Gas, which will then be GasSafe instead of Corgi.

Have you or do you know anyone who has gone through this retraining route and do you have any advice to help a guy out ?

btw I may be using Hybrid Technical Training who are based in Aintree Liverpool so if you have experience of them let me know.

thanks

Alan

Sponsored Links
Good luck finding a job - there's plenty of plumbers and gas engineers being made redundant at the moment as well

Why does everyone want to retrain to be a plumber/heating engineer?

I reckon in a couple of years there will be a real shortage of financial advisors (was tempted to use *ankers)....

Will it be worth re-training, just in case.. :eek:

Sponsored Links
A bit disappointed with the replies guys, I was hoping for something a little more constructive.

don't matter their are engineers with 20 yrs experience over you that are looking for work or are quiet etc.

don't think a piece of paper and no experience is gonna make the work flood in.

i think you have read to many newspaper ads
be a heating engineer earn 50 k

smiley_128.gif

Why does everyone want to retrain to be a plumber/heating engineer?

Well. there'll always be work, while we live in a cold country and while people have holes in their arses.

Or a citizens advice geezer, there must be loads of call for them at the minute.

i think you have read to many newspaper ads
be a heating engineer earn 50 k

smiley_128.gif