1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Switching out 4 way light switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ryanwatson, 18 Mar 2020.

  1. ryanwatson

    ryanwatson

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just picked up a Lightwave smart switch (3 way), I’m trying to replace an existing 4 way switch with a 3 way smart switch with dimming. I plan to have one of the switches control 2 sets of existing lights hence 3.

    I have attached a few pictures to explain below.

    The smart switch has a single entry point for live rather than having to use a common and linking wires. If my understanding is correct, I would need to put all brown live wires together and put them in the new live slot? I doubt it would fit. Then, I would need to work out which blue switched live is which light as you can see in the picture these are grouped. Am I going about this right?



    Appreciate the help, thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,065
    Thanks Received:
    1,913
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You lucky man.
    You have neutrals in your box...

    1. The blues in your box are the neutrals, not switched lives. Leave them in the terminal block and run a new bit of blue wire from the terminal block to the N terminal.
    2. On your existing switch you have 4 (probably) brown wires that go to L1 terminals on the switch (cant see from the pic). These are the switched lives. These will go to the outputs on the lightwave switch. I see you'll be grouping two together??, the old switch is 4-gang, the new one is only 3.
    3. You will then be left with a couple of lives that will be on the switch COM terminals, with loops. Just put the ones that come from the cables in to the L terminal on the new switch.

    That's it.

    PS. If the new switch has an earth terminal, you'll need a of earth wire from the back box to the switch plate.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,644
    Thanks Received:
    3,431
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    upload_2020-3-18_15-59-11.png
    .....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,065
    Thanks Received:
    1,913
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A picture writes a thousand words!
     
  5. Sponsored Links
  6. ryanwatson

    ryanwatson

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you both! I’ll try that shortly and see where I get.
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,644
    Thanks Received:
    3,431
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    31,644
    Thanks Received:
    3,431
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Mark the wires before you disconnect them
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ryanwatson

    ryanwatson

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks to both of you I got this working quite quickly, appreciate you taking the time
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page