why is there no earth terminal ashley j803

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ashley-J8...trical_Fittings_MJ&hash=item3a7a3579e5&_uhb=1
I am new to these junction boxes. My electrician friend told me to use these but he's too busy to show me and didn't have one to hand anyway.

why is there no earth terminal ? How many wires can you fit in each hole?

It should be ok to buy from ebay right? Does anyone know where I can buy without having a trade account? Am a diy'er you see! preferably a shop within Manchester area.

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ashley-J803-17th-Edition-Maintenance-Free-3-Terminal-Junction-Box-For-Power-32A-/251158428133?pt=UK_DIY_Material_Electrical_Fittings_MJ&hash=item3a7a3579e5&_uhb=1
I am new to these junction boxes. My electrician friend told me to use these but he's too busy to show me and didn't have one to hand anyway.
There are three sets of terminals - one set for Line/Live, one set for Neutral and one set for earth/CPC. Each set has 4 'holes' (2 on each side) each of which can take one conductor - so you can use these boxes to join up to 4 T+E cables. The bare earth/CPC conductors should, of course, be sleeved with green/yellow sleeving within the box. There is a corresponding one with 4 sets of terminals, designed primarily for lighting circuits (lower current rating, if I recall, although I don't understand why - terminals look identical!).

Hope that helps.

Kind Regards, John

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ashley-J803-17th-Edition-Maintenance-Free-3-Terminal-Junction-Box-For-Power-32A-/251158428133?pt=UK_DIY_Material_Electrical_Fittings_MJ&hash=item3a7a3579e5&_uhb=1