Worth putting full-bore isolators on shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, i've been advised by more than one person to use full-bore 15mm isolators for our new shower valve fittings.
Question is, i've not used full-bore isolators elsewhere, in particular on the same pipe about 3m prior to the shower isolater, so will the shower flow still suffer or is there a certain distance after a half-bore isolator when the flow hits full speed again?
Does that make any sense?

Sponsored Links
If there is a valve 3 metres away are u sure u need another one

Sponsored Links
It might be what the plumber had to hand when joining the 3 metre length of pipe. Easier than going to the van to fetch a coupler.

As a Service Engineer I can tell you that you can NEVER have enough valves on a system!! FULL BORE valves offer little or no restiction to water flow so should always be used ;)

Thanks for those who offered constructive advice.

I did ask a couple of plumbers and they said full bore weren't really needed, but to use full bore on the shower valves.
The pressure and flow of water is pretty damned good anywhere in the house to be honest.
My main question was that once a semi bore isolator is installed somewhere does it mean that the flow after that isolator will be reduced?
Surely after a certain distance it builds up again, the way water through a damn maintains a heavy flow further downstream?

To answer some of the snidier posts, i'm doing it all myself and have loads of isolators but no couplers, so i used them. But i only bought 2 full-bores for the shower according to the advice i got.
We're on a combi boiler, does that make a difference?
I'll reiterate that the flow and pressure is really good already, the existing bath and sink that have been fitted with semi-bore isolators have no problems at all in fact the monoblock sink tap seems a little too powerful.